Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Broad Street High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 208 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 26, 2009

It is a very great school. The students are doing so well in their classes and I love the fact that I use to go to BSH and my two oldest kids graduated from there. Now my two 16 year old twins are going there. It is a wonderful school, and soon my 1 year old son will go. I advise that all the parents that are reading this, take your children to this school. Every student is intelligent, smart, outgoing, and has the knowledge to get into a lot of BIG COLLEGES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

I Jarvis Foster, for one, am glad to call Broad Street High my school. Kids are recieving a great education here and are having fun doing so. People talk down on us but that is only motivation for us to achieve at greater things. BSH will always be in my heart no matter what.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2006

Well to me Broad Street is a okay school. There is nothing like teacher coming to your house because you didn't do an assignment or homework. No where else but at BSH are you going to find that. I am so happy to say that I Robert De'Andre Sparks was a student at that wonderful school. I love it with all my heart because it is home and nothing is like home.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 1, 2005

Well people are quick to talk about us at Broad Street High School but they fail to realize that we are not the ones that messed up. Broad Street High School is a SUCESSFUL school where education is being taught. No school disrict is perfect and I feel as if we can do better if we recieve direction in the right way. We can fix our problem and we will. We have a reputation of being one of the best high schools in the area. We have great test scores on the MCT, ACT, and Subject Area Tests. We are known to excel in sports, academics, and other extra-curricular activities. Some people in our community are quick to talk about us when they don't know what is really going on. You are not currently attending one of our schools. So I suggest you don't talk when you don't know whats going.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 24, 2005

This is the worst school district in the state. The superintendent tries to run the district like a dictatorship. The test scores are at an all-time low and the school is being taking over by the state. I have never seen a district with so much politics and chaos in it. Your children will never receive a qualilty education in this district. The superintendent, the board president, and many uncertified teachers all need to be replace with people that has the student's education at heart. Clifton Reed, former student and concerned citizen.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 31, 2005

Great Home Town Feeling! Values and ethics being taught not only in school with parents and the community. Great school spirit and colors! Reputation of not given up in books or sports! Unforgettable energy and tenacity! Graduates are leaders of the local community and nations. Specticular rate of college attendence. Excellent overall rating!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 100% 50%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 3%
Two or more races 0% 0%
White 0% 46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 99%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1305 Martin Luther King Dr
Shelby, MS 38774
Phone: (662) 398-4040

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Bayou Academy
Cleveland, MS


Cleveland High School
Cleveland, MS


East Side High School
Cleveland, MS



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT