Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Southern Baptist Educ Center

Private | PK-12 | 1057 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Southaven

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $170,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2014

This school is wonderful! The education is top of the line. The teachers truly care about the students and pour into their lives. Everyone here is like a great big family.


Posted March 9, 2014

This school is horrible the teachers are Evil Really Miss ryden She is a horrible women with a bad attitude who went off on me regularly, The principal only cares about how much money he gets in his pocket. Rest of the teachers are the same way Dont care about there students just about themselves, never send your child to this evil place.


Posted July 9, 2013

My daughter attended this school for 3rd grade and excelled in everything but her teacher was VERY rude and made physical contact with her face when my daughter was unorganized. The teacher squeezed her face while she spoke to her while my daughter said nothing and in general, the teacher was rude to me and my daughter and always called her unorganized and even once went into her backpack while my child was working in the classroom and took many things from it and cleaning it out which I thought was really rude. My daughter could have done it herself and she didn't need her teacher to snoop around in her bag. Also, (I don't know if they've changed this problem ever since we left) but there was an ant infestation in the cafeteria and in the classrooms & my daughter received a burger that had moldy bread on it. All and all in general, it's a great school for learning but my daughters teacher was NOTHING But rude and inconsiderate and there was a sanitation problem
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2011

Great school, great teachers. Everyone is friendly. Transferred from a public school, and will never go back!


Posted July 26, 2011

Look let's be honest. I went there for four years and I didn't like it very much. I'm not gonna say I was the best student but more or less I didn't feel very prepared for college. Some of the teachers said things like, "Oh, college professors will not help their students out any and don't care what happens in their class." If you've been in college lately you'll know that isn't true. Also, I was suspended twice. I didn't deserve one of those that's for sure. If you have any mental illness, like the other person mentioned, including depression, they do not know how to handle things if a problem arises and a student has a break down. If you leave the room to cry and not embarrass yourself in front of other classmates, especially in a class you were failing, you shouldn't be suspended and threatened with expulsion. Also, some of the principals or whatever, other than the elementary one are not good with students. I wish i could go off on a few but they really need to watch their actions around the ladies, we noticed and it wasn't normal or appropriate. Anyway, students are never right and teachers are never wrong. It's just disappointing this happens at a christian school.


Posted January 18, 2010

My daughter has been at this school since August 2009. I LOVE this school. they are very understanding and they will work with your child in a great way. My daughter is VERY bright. I give all of my thanks to this school. Mrs. Veazey, Mrs. Pat, and Mrs. Sid are all wonderful!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2009

My husband and I are not active in a church now - but we are saved and have learned the importance to start having our Lord as the head of our household just by our children being at SBEC and the way their well-being is being nurtured by the loving teachers and leaders at SBEC. This is not saying that academics is not AAA - it is! Having your children in a safe and loving environment during the day along with AAA education is perfect for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

We have been at SBEC for three years now. We prayed long and hard about where to send our son when he started Kindergarten. He has asperger's syndrome and we were so worried that he would not be successful. Words cannot describe the amount of support and success we have had at SBEC. It has been such a blessing and our son is so happy! He wakes up each morning and is excited about going to school. I could not be more pleased with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2009

My son attended SBEC for 3 years. The first year there he wasn't treated too badly, but the next two years things went downhill. My son has Asperger's syndrome so he is exceptionally bright but has delayed social skills. The teachers and the principal were unwilling to make accommodations for his needs. I tried to get help from the guidance counselor and she told me she didn't deal with discipline problems. If you have a special needs child that needs caring teachers and staff, don't send him/her to SBEC!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2008

I attended SBEC for 12 years and graduated in May of 2007. One thing that I am eternally thankful for is the outstanding education I received in my formative, younger years. This school stresses reading at an early age and it is carried on throughout the school by excellent English and Literature teachers at every grade level. I was involved with several sports every year and I had my share of conflicts with coaches but word of mouth has lead me to believe that SBEC if finally ridding itself of biased, politically motivated coaches. The elementary education is phenomenal and has set a great foundation for me to continue learning in the future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2007

My husband and I enrolled our son in SBEC, starting in K3, to ensure him a solid foundation in life. We want our son in a learning environment where our family values are consistently reinforced. We want him to be able to say the Pledge of Allegiance the way it was written and pray publicly in school. Our son is an exceptionally bright child and we want to jump-start his education; we prefer to have him in a learning environment where he will be challenged. As Desoto County grows the public education system is becoming overcrowded; we don't want our son lost in the system. We believe SBEC will give our son the foundation we are looking for and a head start in life, especially his spiritual life which is the most important issue of all. SBEC continues to meet all our expectations and our son loves going to SBEC!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2005

This is a wonderful school with caring teachers and administrators. Parents are involved on every level and students are challenged academically. My son is doing very well there, and I couldn't be more pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2005

I have been a student at SBEC since K-5. Right now, I am in 9th grade. I am in Honors English, National Jr. Honor Society, a Student Ambassador, and on Jr. High Student Council. If you are looking for a school that cares about your child's education, safety, and character- this is the place. Parents are always welcome to help out in the classroom, and we have Parent/ Teacher Conferences twice a year. We have an outstanding athletic program for elementary and high school students. The academic program is far above average. This is a college prep school. Students are doing more than required at other schools to prepare them for college. This is a wonderful, fantastic school, and it is well worth the money.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 2, 2004

My son has completed K5 and 1st at SBEC. This school, teachers, and staff have provide a sound foundation for the next several grades. After 1st grade he already reads 4.5 grade level and on a third grade level in math. And I appreciate the Christian values and expectations placed on the students. I only hope he completeds all 12 grades at SBEC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I believe it to be a great college prep school. The teachers and administrators were great. I feel that my kids were well prepared for 'life after high school'
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 46%
Black 9% 50%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7400 Getwell Road
Southaven, MS 38672
Phone: (662) 349-3096

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT