Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Desoto Central Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 1218 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 26, 2014

Tht lady. Talking about the gym coach walking around with the paddle it's coach turnage coach turnage would never do anything so ur child needs to stop being a lil brat and grow a pair and get over it and on top of tht we have the guest test score out of mississispi and the whole district of desoto central and it is so not disorganized is so fun and they give us freedom but when it's time for studying and class it's fun and try about the coldness but tell them to bring a jacket


Posted August 10, 2013

Very disorganized! Very shocked to find my child has over 20 kids in each of her classes. Even more shocked to hear of a gym coach that is intimidating the children by walking around during lunch slapping a PADDLE on the bottom of his shoe. Some of the teachers have the air conditioning cranked up so high, the kids have to wear jackets, and are shivering!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

THIS SCHOOL is horrible.. no parent teacher communication., and they rarely respond to your e-mails... good area.. but this school needs to take a good look at themselves and get off their high horse.,,, this is unacceptable.,,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2008

I had a great time at Desoto Central Middle School. The teachers are great......well most of them anyways. I will miss that school. I do think that Desoto Central pushes us to make us better students. This is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2008

This year, (year of 2008-2009), they are going back to regular squedual. 7 Periods. They are not going to do the A and B day again... Although, the school is making all students do P.E and you can even earn credit in 8th grade. If you pass computer class, which you have to sign up to and is very hard to get, you get 1 credit. I do not think the school will have the same principal. He is very strict, but he can be very fair and communicates to parents fantastic! The teachers work their bottoms off to get these students to learn. Although, a lot of the students are rude... It's teenagers these days...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

It's actually a good school. Theres hardly ever violence, and theres some nice teachers. The principal is very strick, but fair.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2008

I think the school is pretty good. Teachers could do a better job at communicating with the parents. When there was a fundraiser such as the cookie dough sales, working parents really didn't have a convenient time to pick up orders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2007

All students should be required to have PE. Foreign language should be offered. Study hall should not be a required class. This time could be used for another activity. An entire class period is used for remediation! What is this for. I think there could be a more efficient use of time. Some of the discipline rules are ridiculous. They are across the board no tolerance with not consideration of the circumstances. If your child is being picked on or even being beat up and they defend themselves, they are suspendedalongside the bad child. Children are only allowed to tattle. Are we raising a bunch of children that will have no skills for solving their own problems? They should also give national testing so we can really see how well our schools are doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

DCMS is smoke and mirrors. Yes they have music,sports,etc; but that doesn't mean your child will get to participate. The only advance class they have for seventh graders is pre algebra. Also this year they've started a new block system so theres a chance your child can have a 3 hour study hall and you have no say whatsoever. Heres the big kicker, not only do you pay big bucks to buy a house in this area, pay a heavy school tax. They don't even provide your child with an exceptional curriculum. Most people just agree that dcms is a great school because that's what they heard, but I ask that you really take a look at what your being fed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

Academic programs could be improved. Not enough emphasis stressed on use of the textbook for reference and reinforcement. Homework isn't checked for correctness or content, only that it has been completed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2007

I am a student at DCMS. It is a great school, although lacking some quality in areas. You have to be in the 'click' to be accepted. There are optional acadamic programs, but I feel there aren't really enough. The teachers are excellent, and the principal strict. We have music, art, sports, choir, Beta, Spotlight, Fellowship Christian Students, but other than that, there are no other activities. It might sound like a lot, but it's not. Parents are involved, but again, you have to be in the 'click.'
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2007

For the most part, I believe DCMS is a good school. I do wish the curriculum was more challenging and gave more recognition to hardworking students. It's great they give the students multiple options for extra curricular activities, but sometimes the funding isn't there. I find that to be disturbing considering the economical demographics of the area and parent involvlement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2006

We are new to the Desoto County School System and are for the most part very pleased. Our daughter has been included in social as well as academic environments. It is such a good feeling when your child wants to attend school and feels accomplishments (within their ability range). I hope to stay employed in the county primarily so that our child can attend this school system! We live in Memphis and believe me the drive is worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2006

Both of my children attend this school. Overall, I think the school is pretty good. Keep in mind that the Desoto Central schools are not old schools yet. In time more and more extracurricular activities and more educational opportunities will come out. The Desoto Central schools are growing at a very rapid rate. There is a major population shift to Desoto County. Considering this, I think that the teachers, principal, etc. are doing a good job. There used to not be enough discipline in these schools, but I see it improving. They do appear to be cracking down on problem students and working with the parents. There is a terrible problem of some bullying occuring at this school. Your going to have this in most schools irregardless. The staff is working on this with what appears to be an empathy methodology. If your child loves band then this is it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2004

Desoto Middle is a school with a great atmosphere. I think students feel at home. It would be great to see some options for students to take a foreign language. I wished that all the staff were on the same page for discipline in the classroom instead of an individual basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2004

I think Desoto Central is a great school. I have a child at the middle and high school. The school school has to be strict on the conduct or our schools will be like the rest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2004

This is an outstanding school...I highly recommend it. I know many parents who, have taken their children out of private school,SBEC(which is down the road)and enrolled them in the Desoto Central School campus. They have no regrets. The elementary, middle and high scholl are all on one campus. Very convientent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2004

This school lacks in parent/teacher communication. The teachers do not feel a need to contact the parents, nor does the principal. The parents do not know what is going on and the PTO only includes the families that have a non working parent. Improvement is needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2004

I feel that Desoto Central is a very political school. There is a lot of parental involvement, a majority of the parents are in there to see who can do what for who. I think that the CMS test are a joke. Especially in math! My child had to take a CMS test 3 times, even after he made a 100 on the test. Why? because most of the class failed it and the teacher needed them to pass it to make herself look good. I've had to get a tutor for him. She doesn't send any of their test grades home and she doesn't return his tutors calls. I've heard from other parents who also think that they need better math teachers up there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2003

Desoto Central Elementary is a great school but I feel as though they are to strict for a elementary school on conduct.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

388 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

387 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 63% in 2013.

427 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

426 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

406 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

405 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 93% in 2012.

383 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

405 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 46%
Black 24% 50%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Hispanic 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2611 Central Parkway
Southaven, MS 38672
Phone: (662) 349-6660

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sacred Heart School
Southaven, MS







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT