Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8 & Ungraded
Public district
Southaven, MS
Students enrolled: 1,218
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

21 reviews of this school


Desoto Central Middle School 5

Posted May 26, 2014
- a community member
Tht lady. Talking about the gym coach walking around with the paddle it's coach turnage coach turnage would never do anything so ur child needs to stop being a lil brat and grow a pair and get over it and on top of tht we have the guest test score out of mississispi and the whole district of desoto central and it is so not disorganized is so fun and they give us freedom but when it's time for studying and class it's fun and try about the coldness but tell them to bring a jacket

Desoto Central Middle School 3

Posted August 10, 2013
- a parent
Very disorganized! Very shocked to find my child has over 20 kids in each of her classes. Even more shocked to hear of a gym coach that is intimidating the children by walking around during lunch slapping a PADDLE on the bottom of his shoe. Some of the teachers have the air conditioning cranked up so high, the kids have to wear jackets, and are shivering!


Desoto Central Middle School 1

Posted October 20, 2010
- a parent
THIS SCHOOL is horrible.. no parent teacher communication., and they rarely respond to your e-mails... good area.. but this school needs to take a good look at themselves and get off their high horse.,,, this is unacceptable.,,

Desoto Central Middle School 4

Posted July 11, 2008
- a student
I had a great time at Desoto Central Middle School. The teachers are great......well most of them anyways. I will miss that school. I do think that Desoto Central pushes us to make us better students. This is a great school.

Desoto Central Middle School 5

Posted May 30, 2008
- a parent
This year, (year of 2008-2009), they are going back to regular squedual. 7 Periods. They are not going to do the A and B day again... Although, the school is making all students do P.E and you can even earn credit in 8th grade. If you pass computer class, which you have to sign up to and is very hard to get, you get 1 credit. I do not think the school will have the same principal. He is very strict, but he can be very fair and communicates to parents fantastic! The teachers work their bottoms off to get these students to learn. Although, a lot of the students are rude... It's teenagers these days...


Desoto Central Middle School 4

Posted March 03, 2008
- a student
It's actually a good school. Theres hardly ever violence, and theres some nice teachers. The principal is very strick, but fair.

Desoto Central Middle School
no rating

Posted January 02, 2008
- a parent
I think the school is pretty good. Teachers could do a better job at communicating with the parents. When there was a fundraiser such as the cookie dough sales, working parents really didn't have a convenient time to pick up orders.

Desoto Central Middle School 2

Posted November 13, 2007
- a parent
All students should be required to have PE. Foreign language should be offered. Study hall should not be a required class. This time could be used for another activity. An entire class period is used for remediation! What is this for. I think there could be a more efficient use of time. Some of the discipline rules are ridiculous. They are across the board no tolerance with not consideration of the circumstances. If your child is being picked on or even being beat up and they defend themselves, they are suspendedalongside the bad child. Children are only allowed to tattle. Are we raising a bunch of children that will have no skills for solving their own problems? They should also give national testing so we can really see how well our schools are doing.


Desoto Central Middle School 3

Posted August 10, 2007
- a parent
DCMS is smoke and mirrors. Yes they have music,sports,etc; but that doesn't mean your child will get to participate. The only advance class they have for seventh graders is pre algebra. Also this year they've started a new block system so theres a chance your child can have a 3 hour study hall and you have no say whatsoever. Heres the big kicker, not only do you pay big bucks to buy a house in this area, pay a heavy school tax. They don't even provide your child with an exceptional curriculum. Most people just agree that dcms is a great school because that's what they heard, but I ask that you really take a look at what your being fed.

Desoto Central Middle School 3

Posted July 24, 2007
- a parent
Academic programs could be improved. Not enough emphasis stressed on use of the textbook for reference and reinforcement. Homework isn't checked for correctness or content, only that it has been completed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Desoto Central Middle School
2611 Central Parkway, Southaven, MS  38672
(662) 349-6660
Last modified Desoto Central Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Desoto Central Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top