Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Southaven, MS
Students enrolled: 1,520

3 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


35 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Desoto Central High School 5

Posted September 20, 2014
- a parent
Great school, excellent principal. Standards are high as son had a 3.5 gpa graduation was May 2014 and to be in their National Honor Society you needed a 4.0 or higher. There was a high percentage of seniors that were in the society. Son was on the football team for all 4 years. Last years team was undefeated within Desoto County and went to state playoffs for the first time. School has several hundred students, not 30 as shown in profile. Principal was given Mississippi state Principal of the year for this year - 2014.

Desoto Central High School 4

Posted August 19, 2014
- a parent
My son is a senior this year. I have nothing but positive things to say about DCHS. He has attended Desoto Central schools since the third grade. I wouldn't put him in any other school. I have friends who have kids in Bartlett, Germantown and Olive Branch schools and they talk about how the schools are terrible. The Bullying, seal harassment and teachers picking on kids. I ask my son constantly about these things and he said he has never seen any of these things at DCHS. The teachers send messages about class information and the principal sends out updates on a regular basis. Every school has their problems. But I love DCHS.


Desoto Central High School 5

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
This is the best school in Mississippi. Sports, band , and other extracurricular activities are some of the best. Academic standards are very high

Desoto Central High School 5

Posted February 19, 2012
- a student
This school is absolutely the best school I can possibly imagine. The students have multiple talents ranging from sports to musical arts. The school had a great basketball season, holding the state title for over half of the season. The teachers and students were pumped to see such great people support their winning team. Even in a loss, students were still respectful towards players & parents. The band has a great reputation at the school with a positive attitude towards all students. Practicing after school every Monday and Thursday, they work to achieve the big state title at the end of the season. The football team also had a positive message towards students in band by buying the band a cake to motivate band students that this school wants the state title. The school is located in a great community that is fairly new. Everything is well built to meet high-end expectations. It's also located near a fire & police department within the famous Snowden Grove Ballpark. I cannot think of anybody who does not love the principal. He disciplines fairly well and distributes his message towards everybody. He is a great man who puts his all into making this school a "first-class school."

Desoto Central High School 5

Posted November 09, 2011
- a student
A great school. The environment of the school is welcoming and hardly any violence or none. Amazing band/drumline program especially with winning State Championships back-to-back(2010 & 2011). Mr. Cox does all in his power to prepare the students for a new season of marching/concert seasons. Any college in the area who is looking for a band student would have already heard of DC Band's great reputation.


Desoto Central High School 4

Posted October 18, 2011
- a parent
The academics of this school are above average for what you can expect for this area. The overall environment of the school is positive. The band is the best in the northern part of the state and has tremendous support from the community, in fact it is one of the few places where the band outshines the football team in support and recognition and it is certainly the pride of the school. If your student is in band there is no better school in the state for them to attend. The student population is mostly upper middle that has an over inflated sense of its self and is hyper materialistic. This culture exists in all High schools but is more prevalent here than in most and the parents are no different. The athletic program has modest to below average support Central is athletically not taken seriously by the other 6a High schools. The Athletic program is the epitome of politics in athletics, particularly in This year it is widely rumored in the community that the baseball team was selected before the tryout s were even held. No one will go on record and say it but behind the scenes everyone talks about it.

Desoto Central High School 3

Posted April 13, 2011
- a student
I'm a graduate of the class of 2009 and an always very diversely involved student throughout my tenure at DCHS. I came across this site while searching for something else, and decided to read some reviews for my high school. I was somewhat surprised and dismayed at what I saw. DCHS is certainly not a BAD high school. It has many positives, and especially relative to other high schools in the county and state, I would rank it in the top fourth. However, anyone that holds an opinion similar to: "A really excellent high school and all the teachers and staff are amazingly helpful", is absolutely incorrect. The real, objective as possible, truth is the following: 90% of the teachers there are just fundamentally not that smart and can thus provide an education in any of their respective subjects that fails to surpass a 10th grade level. The ONLY teachers intellectually proficient enough are the 4 or 5 that teach the AP classes (limited to few students). I slept through nearly every class and graduated with a 4.36 GPA, never making a B. Also in response to another comment, though the DC band always does well, the director Mr. Cox is undeserving of any positive feedback ever received.

Desoto Central High School 5

Posted May 18, 2010
- a parent
My son is a senior and has attended DeSoto Central for the past 4 years. The entire staff including administrators, teachers, counselors, etc. have been absolutely wonderful to work with. My child has a special education ruling and I couldn't be happier with the services that he received and how willing everyone was to comply with his IEP. He is going to college on full scholarship thanks to their support. GREAT school!


Desoto Central High School 5

Posted December 02, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Desoto Central High School 0
no rating

Posted October 29, 2009
- a parent
My daughter loves the school & is having a great high school experience...that gives me peace of mind in this day & time!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Desoto Central High School
2911 Central Parkway, Southaven, MS  38672
(662) 536-3612
Last modified Desoto Central High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Desoto Central High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top