Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southaven Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 5 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2011

As a teacher at this school, the support of principals and administrative staff is wonderful. The students are great, and most teachers work VERY hard to make sure the students learn the material. My only complaint is a lack of parental support. Many students do not come to the school with the necessary tools (i.e. supplies, experience, help at home) to be highly successful; however, I take pride in the fact that when my students come to my class they have fun, have new experiences, learn social skills, and are educated just as well as they would be anywhere else. You get just as much out of a school as what you put in it.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 25, 2010

The students have test everyday which would be fine if the teachers actually went over it! My child got sent home with an English test with a C on it which had been curved, and my child normally does great in this subject. On the test there was a note that said went over right before the test! They give them hw that's due whenever they don't even go over it! Their spelling tests are a bunch of misspelled and correctly spelled words on a sheet of paper and the students are just supposed to circle the right answer! They don't offer tutoring, unless you go with your child for 4 hours after school. Well I would love to do that if I didn't have a 3 yr old and a 9 month old at home!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

For the typical student this school is as average as the next. For the special needs student, they simply do not have the resources to properly provide for this population.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Wonderful teachers and the safety/ discipline within the school is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2010

SES is an excellent school. As a parent I have always been able to talk with my child's teachers and get their feedback on her performance. Mrs Turner has provided a strong leadership as well. Thank you Mrs. Turner and teachers for your hard work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2009

My daughter transfered to this school a few years ago from a wonderful school in another state. First thing that I didn't like was the lack of parent involvement. I have always volunteered and here they don't allow that. Also this is the only school I've ever been involved with that didn't have an open door policy for parents. I have no way of knowing what's going in the classroom because you are not allowed to enter classrooms.The teachers my daughter has had have been really nice, it's the administration that is anti-parent. In the 2 years she has been at the school she has yet to learn anything that she hadn't already learned in the 2nd grade at the previous school because of overcrowding and disruptive students the teachers spend more time disiplining than teaching.We are homeschooling this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2009

We love southaven elm but do feel like there could be more extra activities for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

Southaven Elementary School is an outstanding Educational Facility. From the Principal to the custodian they are all respectful and professional. The students are a sure reflection of the administration at ses. My son is responsible, respectable, honorable and excited about learning. Hats off to SES both staff/students keep soaring for the highest heights.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2007

My daughter has gone to a Memphis school and one in California. She thinks Southaven is the best school ever. The teacher seem to really care and have control in the class room. I think that is why her grades are getting better and she really wants to do well. The teachers and staff seem to love there jobs.I also went there from second to sixth grade, back in th 70's and it was an Oasis compared to the Memphis school I went to. Please keep up the good work. She really looks forward to going in the morning. How many kids will say that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2007

My 5 year old daughter attends this school. The only thing I don't like about the school is they always send important papers home too late. For example, my daughter took pictures today. I had no knowledge of the pictures until yesterday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

I have two children at SES and I have been nothing but pleased with the principal,office staff,teachers, assistants, and the entire school body. They do show a geniune love for me as well as my children. I am so grateful to have found a school that truly cares about the academic status of my children and the parental involvement that I play inside of the school as well as at home. Thank you Ms. Turner for running a quality 1 school!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

I have been nothing but pleased with SOuthaven Elementary. My children (all 3 of them) love it. I don't even think I could come up with something negative to say. Thank you all so much for everything you do for our students. The teachers adn staff are the best in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2006

Great school! We fled from the hurricane and found a welcoming environment. Great teacheres, admin and a safe environment. Parent involvement is not what it should be but the ones who are involved give 110% SES you rock!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2005

Southaven Elementary is the best shool that my child ever attended. The teachers care about the children and provide learning experiences for all children. I would not send my child anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2005

We moved nearby in the middle of the school year so our child began at SE then. He/She has had a terrible time there. Our 11 year old has a learning disability and requires some special attention. He got the needed help when we were in Texas, but not here. If your child has an easy time with school, SE is probably fine. However if your child is struggling, don't count on SE to help!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2005

Hi, I have two kids who go to Southaven, and a child who went last year 2004. One best thing they have going for themselves is Ms.Donna who is a Pre-First Teacher she strives to improve the children knowledge. In my opinion, cover each other is the name of the game.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2004

My son went to Southaven Elementary for K-5. He did not have any problems with his teacher, but did with the teachers aid. She made him pull tickets for stuff that should not matter (i.e., pretending to cut his finger with sissors that bearly cut paper). They have some rules that are unneeded (i.e., no talking at the lunch table until you have finished your lunch). However, overall, the school is a good school and my child did learn a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2004

This school needs more teachers that care about the children. If a child is unhappy about something they should be able to tell the teacher and the teacher should kindly talk to the child. My son told his teacher one day that he didn't like his lunch, and his teacher made him pull a ticket when he got back to class for telling her something that wasn't importent to her. I may not of mattered to her but it sure did to my 7 year old. I have found that this is the kind of teachers this school likes to have. Ones that don't care about the students. If you ever walk into this school for the firt time don't expect to hear children laughing and teachers talking nice to children all they do is yell at them. I would not send my child to school again.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 89% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 44% 50%
White 42% 46%
Hispanic 13% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8274 Claiborne Dr
Southaven, MS 38671
Phone: (662) 342-2289

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT