Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5 & Ungraded|Public district
721 students|Desoto Co School Dist
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Southaven Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Steward and resource teacher Mrs. Jackson get my highest praise. Both helped my special needs child tremendously.

Southaven Elementary School 3

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
Very VERY unhappy with the school this year. My child has an old curmudgeon of a teacher and a guidance counselor whom both are old school and unable to change with the times. My child used to love school, now it's a battle every morning to motivate my child to go. To the teacher who said there is a lack of parental involvement; not all of us are like that. As another parent said it sure would be nice for those of us who want to be more involved to feel welcomed. Not allowing us in the classrooms creates suspicion and distrust.


Southaven Elementary School 4

Posted August 12, 2011
- a teacher
As a teacher at this school, the support of principals and administrative staff is wonderful. The students are great, and most teachers work VERY hard to make sure the students learn the material. My only complaint is a lack of parental support. Many students do not come to the school with the necessary tools (i.e. supplies, experience, help at home) to be highly successful; however, I take pride in the fact that when my students come to my class they have fun, have new experiences, learn social skills, and are educated just as well as they would be anywhere else. You get just as much out of a school as what you put in it.

Southaven Elementary School 2

Posted August 25, 2010
- a parent
The students have test everyday which would be fine if the teachers actually went over it! My child got sent home with an English test with a C on it which had been curved, and my child normally does great in this subject. On the test there was a note that said went over right before the test! They give them hw that's due whenever they don't even go over it! Their spelling tests are a bunch of misspelled and correctly spelled words on a sheet of paper and the students are just supposed to circle the right answer! They don't offer tutoring, unless you go with your child for 4 hours after school. Well I would love to do that if I didn't have a 3 yr old and a 9 month old at home!

Southaven Elementary School 2

Posted May 10, 2010
- a parent
For the typical student this school is as average as the next. For the special needs student, they simply do not have the resources to properly provide for this population.


Southaven Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
Wonderful teachers and the safety/ discipline within the school is outstanding.

Southaven Elementary School 5

Posted January 06, 2010
- a parent
SES is an excellent school. As a parent I have always been able to talk with my child's teachers and get their feedback on her performance. Mrs Turner has provided a strong leadership as well. Thank you Mrs. Turner and teachers for your hard work!

Southaven Elementary School 1

Posted August 14, 2009
- a parent
My daughter transfered to this school a few years ago from a wonderful school in another state. First thing that I didn't like was the lack of parent involvement. I have always volunteered and here they don't allow that. Also this is the only school I've ever been involved with that didn't have an open door policy for parents. I have no way of knowing what's going in the classroom because you are not allowed to enter classrooms.The teachers my daughter has had have been really nice, it's the administration that is anti-parent. In the 2 years she has been at the school she has yet to learn anything that she hadn't already learned in the 2nd grade at the previous school because of overcrowding and disruptive students the teachers spend more time disiplining than teaching.We are homeschooling this year.


Southaven Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 01, 2009
- a parent
We love southaven elm but do feel like there could be more extra activities for them.

Southaven Elementary School 5

Posted March 19, 2009
- a parent
Southaven Elementary School is an outstanding Educational Facility. From the Principal to the custodian they are all respectful and professional. The students are a sure reflection of the administration at ses. My son is responsible, respectable, honorable and excited about learning. Hats off to SES both staff/students keep soaring for the highest heights.

Nearby schools

Southaven Elementary School
8274 Claiborne Dr, Southaven, MS  38671
(662) 342-2289
Last modified Southaven Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top