Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Starkville Academy

Private | PK-12 | 709 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Starkville

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $107,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $588.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2013

When making decisions about education, do not mistake great Websites and prestige for competence! Starkville Academy offers small classes and many opportunities for students to participate in extra-curricular activities. Don't mistake quantity for quality; many of those opportunities lack element of quality. Students may participate, but their experience is limited by lack of leadership from coaches, teachers, and administrators. There have been many instances of inequitable treatment in sports my daughter experienced. Also, I'm aware of different treatment in the classroom depending on who the child is from a social standpoint.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2011

Parents are very supportive of school activities, and the work the teachers do. The board and administration are working to help teachers and students, by implemented new programs, such as dual enrollment in college algebra and Fresh comp. New labs and slide projectors help the students and teachers. Most of the students are hard-working, goal-oriented, and self disciplined. Because the number of students in each class ranges from 15-22, teachers help each student more and know each one well. After attending since kindergarten, my child completed Calculus and Spanish 3. My child will be attending college on full academic and athletic scholarships. He or she had excellent opportunities for leadership in the band, drama, and athletics. The faculty are well-qualified, caring, and hard-working role models. Daily, each class says the pledge, has a devotion, and prayer. The same Christian youth leaders meet monthly with the same class from 7th thru 12th grade. All of our international students are doing well in class and extracurricular activities. Graduates are published authors, recognized scientists, and graduates of Notre Dame law school. Pre-k-12th faculty work together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

We were very disappointed with this SA and pulled our children out because they were not challenged at all. Moreover, we were concerned our kids would be super far behind academically if we were to move again (we moved to Starkville from another state). My kids had more challenging work the year before coming to the Academy, and therefore wasted a year. I supplemented my kids with extra work as the homework they were assigned was memorizing the spelling words they already knew how to spell or read the same no-challenging story 4 nights in a row. You basically choose this school over public schools to keep your kids around other middle class families, to play sports, and to have some religious education...not for the academics. Note there were many nice families and teachers...of course, many Starkville residents are warm and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

this school has been an outstanding choice for my children. we moved from the starkville public schools because we wanted our children to be in a christian environment. what we did not expect was that the academy's standard of academics was about one full grade higher than the public school. my children were actually quite far behind academically coming from the public school. i have to admit getting them 'caught up' with the academy's standards was a challenge, but a challenge we happily undertook.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

The Academy has just met our expectations for the two years our children have attended. Our children have lived in several other states other than Mississippi and the Academy's curriculem is well below that of other states. My daughter who is in 9th grade is using the same book that she was taught out of in 7th grade in Georgia. The faculty is excellent, however, the dean could be me more involved with communication with parents. Sports involvement is the Academy's strongpoint. The offer several different sports programs for all ages. My overall impression is that the Academy has self generated the impression that they are a great school. If you have attended other schools, you'll understand that they are an average school and not any better than that of a public school in other states. When they are no other options, Starkville Academy will have to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

Starkville Academy offers the most outstanding learning opportunities for the children of the Starkville area. This is a safe, Christian environment with the academic success of each student as the central focus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

Starkville Academy offers students a wide range of academic and extra-curricula activities including classes for gifted students, drama, art, choir, band, AP courses, and sports such as tennis, golf, basketball, football, cheerleading, soccer, and baseball. It is a medium size school so students receive excellent academic supervision which allows special needs to be identitfied and met. Many teachers have master's degrees and surpass the minimum education requirements of the state. The Academy is a Christian school but has no affiliation with any denomination. There is a general acceptance among the faculty of Christian principals and ethics, but the learning atmosphere is tolerant and progressive. Our two daughters have excelled both academically and personally while attending the Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2005

I think that Starkville Academy is a great school. I think that it is wonderful to go to a school where I can pray and not be punished when thinking about or saying anything about God. The teacher's are also great because they want to get to know you and try to help you as much as possible. I am an athlete at Starkville Academy and i think that we have a wonderful acadmeic program as well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 7, 2004

I feel that the Academy is overall a good school. The curriculum taught puts students on a level playing field with other Mississippi students. The highschool offers AP and honors subjects for most courses. In addition, remedial students can also find courses that fit their level. The teachers are interested in each student as an individual and encourage them to excell in not only the classroom, but also in social and sporting events. As for the religion based aspect, Starkville Academy encourages the moral values that are found in the Bible. I did not feel that at any time Christianity was forced on a student or parents. I was grateful to find a school where prayers can still be said and students are allowed to say 'God' when referring to a supreme being instead of only as a curse word.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 4, 2004

The Academy really did not live up to our expectations. After sending our child to K and 1st grade, we decided not to continue. Several factors led to this decision. Most importantly, during our child's 1st grade the school went through a sudden shift to become an extremely conservative religious school, which it was not when we enrolled in Kindergarden. Science textbooks are religion-based. I do not recommend anyone's children attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 46%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Black 1% 50%
Hispanic 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

505 Academy Road
Starkville, MS 39759
Phone: (662) 323-7814

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Starkville High School
Starkville, MS


Overstreet School
Starkville, MS




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT