Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Starkville, MS
Students enrolled: 709

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Starkville Academy 1

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
When making decisions about education, do not mistake great Websites and prestige for competence! Starkville Academy offers small classes and many opportunities for students to participate in extra-curricular activities. Don't mistake quantity for quality; many of those opportunities lack element of quality. Students may participate, but their experience is limited by lack of leadership from coaches, teachers, and administrators. There have been many instances of inequitable treatment in sports my daughter experienced. Also, I'm aware of different treatment in the classroom depending on who the child is from a social standpoint.

Starkville Academy 5

Posted June 19, 2011
- a parent
Parents are very supportive of school activities, and the work the teachers do. The board and administration are working to help teachers and students, by implemented new programs, such as dual enrollment in college algebra and Fresh comp. New labs and slide projectors help the students and teachers. Most of the students are hard-working, goal-oriented, and self disciplined. Because the number of students in each class ranges from 15-22, teachers help each student more and know each one well. After attending since kindergarten, my child completed Calculus and Spanish 3. My child will be attending college on full academic and athletic scholarships. He or she had excellent opportunities for leadership in the band, drama, and athletics. The faculty are well-qualified, caring, and hard-working role models. Daily, each class says the pledge, has a devotion, and prayer. The same Christian youth leaders meet monthly with the same class from 7th thru 12th grade. All of our international students are doing well in class and extracurricular activities. Graduates are published authors, recognized scientists, and graduates of Notre Dame law school. Pre-k-12th faculty work together.


Starkville Academy 5

Posted February 25, 2010
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Starkville Academy 2

Posted February 10, 2010
- a parent
We were very disappointed with this SA and pulled our children out because they were not challenged at all. Moreover, we were concerned our kids would be super far behind academically if we were to move again (we moved to Starkville from another state). My kids had more challenging work the year before coming to the Academy, and therefore wasted a year. I supplemented my kids with extra work as the homework they were assigned was memorizing the spelling words they already knew how to spell or read the same no-challenging story 4 nights in a row. You basically choose this school over public schools to keep your kids around other middle class families, to play sports, and to have some religious education...not for the academics. Note there were many nice families and teachers...of course, many Starkville residents are warm and friendly.

Starkville Academy 5

Posted September 25, 2009
- a parent
this school has been an outstanding choice for my children. we moved from the starkville public schools because we wanted our children to be in a christian environment. what we did not expect was that the academy's standard of academics was about one full grade higher than the public school. my children were actually quite far behind academically coming from the public school. i have to admit getting them 'caught up' with the academy's standards was a challenge, but a challenge we happily undertook.


Starkville Academy 1

Posted August 14, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Starkville Academy 4

Posted May 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Starkville Academy 3

Posted October 21, 2008
- a parent
The Academy has just met our expectations for the two years our children have attended. Our children have lived in several other states other than Mississippi and the Academy's curriculem is well below that of other states. My daughter who is in 9th grade is using the same book that she was taught out of in 7th grade in Georgia. The faculty is excellent, however, the dean could be me more involved with communication with parents. Sports involvement is the Academy's strongpoint. The offer several different sports programs for all ages. My overall impression is that the Academy has self generated the impression that they are a great school. If you have attended other schools, you'll understand that they are an average school and not any better than that of a public school in other states. When they are no other options, Starkville Academy will have to do.


Starkville Academy 5

Posted September 19, 2008
- a parent
Starkville Academy offers the most outstanding learning opportunities for the children of the Starkville area. This is a safe, Christian environment with the academic success of each student as the central focus.

Starkville Academy 4

Posted May 08, 2008
- a parent
Starkville Academy offers students a wide range of academic and extra-curricula activities including classes for gifted students, drama, art, choir, band, AP courses, and sports such as tennis, golf, basketball, football, cheerleading, soccer, and baseball. It is a medium size school so students receive excellent academic supervision which allows special needs to be identitfied and met. Many teachers have master's degrees and surpass the minimum education requirements of the state. The Academy is a Christian school but has no affiliation with any denomination. There is a general acceptance among the faculty of Christian principals and ethics, but the learning atmosphere is tolerant and progressive. Our two daughters have excelled both academically and personally while attending the Academy.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Starkville Academy
505 Academy Road, Starkville, MS  39759
(662) 323-7814
Last modified Starkville Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Starkville Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top