Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sudduth Elementary School

Public | K-2 & ungraded | 30 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 30, 2014

I think Sudduth Elementary is a great school! My son will be in 2nd grade this year and we have had great experiences his kindergarten and 1st grade years. He has had wonderful teachers and the level they taught the children at was very impressive. They really challenged my son and he has scored above the national average on his RIT tests. The school is very organized and they go to great lengths to keep the children safe. It is a big school, so traffic to and from school is busy. I would recommend Sudduth. It is a top school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2013

Sudduth is a great school and we have appreciated the education received. However it is not the school it once was. Communication is a major problem, noone ever seems to know about things going on at the school. The current administration does not make parents feel welcomed at the school. Most of the teachers are good, however the high quality of teacher that once made Sudduth so great has dwindled drastically. With that being said, there are many good things about the school. The new curriculums are great and very rigorous, the gifted program is outstanding and the school really teaches to participate in the community with the year long push on supporting Relay for Life. The school also no longer ability groups reading classes and that is a real shame. The ability group reading classes were one of the best things about Sudduth. While Sudduth is a good school, it has many areas to improve and is no longer the shining star of the school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

I agree with post below. I am counting down the days that my daughter has left. Too overcrowded! (and they're talking about consolidating...what?..) I don't know what's going on with her class and cannot get much communication with the staff. The bus was a horrible experience the first few weeks. It never came and we weren't notified. I ended up carpooling. Starts at 7:40 and we usually end up having to park in the awful traffic and carry my other baby while walking up through the mess. I see right through all the "good" governmental programs that are supposed to be good, but they're just a waste of time. It's very awful, can't wait to get outta there! We moved to the city limits just so our children could go there as well. Disappointed..She learned more at Pre-K at CLC than in Kindergarten. She's gone backwards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2010

Too many kids, too many teachers. Nobody knows who you are. Academics are okay at best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

My son loves attending school at Sudduth. The teachers and staff all seem to genuinely care about student success and finding new and fun ways to help the kids love to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I love the teachers. They go out of there way to teach the kids what they need to learn. There have so many fun ways of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2008

Sudduth has many great opportunities for children. The reading program is great--children learn at their own pace and move forward at their own pace. Our children went to private school for two years, but the public school had many more advantages the private schools did not such PE, art, Music, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2006

Sudduth Elementary is one of the best schools in our area. Success For All is the best reading program on the market. This program enables every child to learn to read and succeed. Parents are encouraged to be actively involved whether through PTA, eattin lunch with their child, or helping ith bookfairs. The faculty is the best in our area and the focus in on the individual needs of the child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

I will agree that Sudduth is also a great school, and it's reading program is top notch. Our child went through K-1 at the Academy, and due to their shift to focus heavily on religion, we moved him to Sudduth for 2nd grade. Although in 2nd grade, he tested at pre-1st reading level. Within 2 weeks, they had found he had a vision problem which made reading much harder than normal. After getting reading glasses, he improved so quickly that by Christmas break, he was ahead of where he should be. I feel that Sudduth teachers have more resources and will go the extra miles to make sure your children develop than what you get at the Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 64% 50%
White 30% 46%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Hispanic 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 Greenfield Dr
Starkville, MS 39759
Phone: (662) 324-4150

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Overstreet School
Starkville, MS


Starkville Academy
Starkville, MS



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT