Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-2 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sudduth Elementary School 5

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and principals at Sudduth know how to create an environment where learning happens. It's an amazing place. Let's be clear: there are certain challenges that a public school faces in a place like Starkville. So to see the enthusiasm for learning that kids and teachers there have is inspiring. It is a diverse school in every sense of the word and yet everyone seems to be on the same page. The folks there--teachers, students, and parents--have made diversity what it should be: a strength. If you're considering a private school instead of Sudduth just make visit the school before you do. You'll be amazed at the spirit, the resources they have, and the learning that is going on there. Let me make one more comment. I have a daughter who has special needs because of a physical handicap. I am constantly amazed at the commitment of the principal and teachers to make her experience as close to those of the other kids as is possible. There just isn't a stigma for being in a wheelchair. She is completely at home at school and has no sense of inferiority or that she is any different.

Sudduth Elementary School 5

Posted July 30, 2014
- a parent
I think Sudduth Elementary is a great school! My son will be in 2nd grade this year and we have had great experiences his kindergarten and 1st grade years. He has had wonderful teachers and the level they taught the children at was very impressive. They really challenged my son and he has scored above the national average on his RIT tests. The school is very organized and they go to great lengths to keep the children safe. It is a big school, so traffic to and from school is busy. I would recommend Sudduth. It is a top school!


Sudduth Elementary School 4

Posted May 10, 2013
- a parent
Sudduth is a great school and we have appreciated the education received. However it is not the school it once was. Communication is a major problem, noone ever seems to know about things going on at the school. The current administration does not make parents feel welcomed at the school. Most of the teachers are good, however the high quality of teacher that once made Sudduth so great has dwindled drastically. With that being said, there are many good things about the school. The new curriculums are great and very rigorous, the gifted program is outstanding and the school really teaches to participate in the community with the year long push on supporting Relay for Life. The school also no longer ability groups reading classes and that is a real shame. The ability group reading classes were one of the best things about Sudduth. While Sudduth is a good school, it has many areas to improve and is no longer the shining star of the school district.

Sudduth Elementary School 1

Posted April 15, 2013
- a parent
I agree with post below. I am counting down the days that my daughter has left. Too overcrowded! (and they're talking about consolidating...what?..) I don't know what's going on with her class and cannot get much communication with the staff. The bus was a horrible experience the first few weeks. It never came and we weren't notified. I ended up carpooling. Starts at 7:40 and we usually end up having to park in the awful traffic and carry my other baby while walking up through the mess. I see right through all the "good" governmental programs that are supposed to be good, but they're just a waste of time. It's very awful, can't wait to get outta there! We moved to the city limits just so our children could go there as well. Disappointed..She learned more at Pre-K at CLC than in Kindergarten. She's gone backwards.

Sudduth Elementary School 3

Posted November 27, 2010
- a parent
Too many kids, too many teachers. Nobody knows who you are. Academics are okay at best.


Sudduth Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
My son loves attending school at Sudduth. The teachers and staff all seem to genuinely care about student success and finding new and fun ways to help the kids love to learn.

Sudduth Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
I love the teachers. They go out of there way to teach the kids what they need to learn. There have so many fun ways of learning.

Sudduth Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 08, 2008
- a parent
Sudduth has many great opportunities for children. The reading program is great--children learn at their own pace and move forward at their own pace. Our children went to private school for two years, but the public school had many more advantages the private schools did not such PE, art, Music, etc.


Sudduth Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2006
- a parent
Sudduth Elementary is one of the best schools in our area. Success For All is the best reading program on the market. This program enables every child to learn to read and succeed. Parents are encouraged to be actively involved whether through PTA, eattin lunch with their child, or helping ith bookfairs. The faculty is the best in our area and the focus in on the individual needs of the child.

Sudduth Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2006
- a parent
I will agree that Sudduth is also a great school, and it's reading program is top notch. Our child went through K-1 at the Academy, and due to their shift to focus heavily on religion, we moved him to Sudduth for 2nd grade. Although in 2nd grade, he tested at pre-1st reading level. Within 2 weeks, they had found he had a vision problem which made reading much harder than normal. After getting reading glasses, he improved so quickly that by Christmas break, he was ahead of where he should be. I feel that Sudduth teachers have more resources and will go the extra miles to make sure your children develop than what you get at the Academy.

Nearby schools

Sudduth Elementary School
101 Greenfield Dr, Starkville, MS  39759
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (662) 324-4150
Last modified Sudduth Elementary School is a Public school
Top