Advertisement
Advertisement

Vicksburg Catholic School

Private | PK-12 | 554 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Vicksburg

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $96,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $603.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2009

Because it provides an environment of learning and christian values!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I love Vicksburg Catholic Schools because it is where my children spend the majority of their time and they are happy and feel safe. Vicksburg Catholic School gives my children structure and a great education. We are a Catholic family and I know my kids can pray and feel God's presence each and every day in their hallways and classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Vicksburg Catholic School provides an excellent environment for learning that impacts the development of the whole child, not only mentally, but physically and spirtually as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I love the education that children are given along with the pride that is displayed by everyone at the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

VCS presents quality education and Christian morales led by a caring, energetic faculty to a student body eager to learn and participate in their school and community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

VCS has provided a tradition of excellent education and faith formation that instills a solid foundation for its' students to excel in life. As an alumni I have experienced several open doors of opportunity intitiated by my education and faith. Thank you VCS!


Posted September 18, 2009

I'm proud to have my son in VCS. Excellence in education, tradition and school spirit, caring teachers and staff. Go Flashes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Vicksburg Catholic Schools is a great family oriented school. They care deeply about every student they have, and strive to give the best education to every student that they can. Vicksburg Catholic School is very involved in community also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

The school lets children keep on low reading level and low level of math. It do need improve on these terms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

Vicksburg Catholic School has been a wonderful teaching/learning/life mentoring school for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2007

We couldn't be happier with VCS. Our son's teachers have been very dedicated to his education and growth. It is wonderful to be in an enviroment that can show him that it is okay to love God.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2006

Great school. 100% Graduated class attended college last year. Teachers will know you child personally. Very safe also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

We moved here a year ago and are somewhat dissappointed. Our children are not challanged and the atmosphere is clickish and overly strict. The new principal is controlling and seems indecisive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2003

Great school for keeping your kids safe and prepared for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 41%
Asian 3% 1%
Black 3% 54%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Hispanic 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Jackson
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1900 Grove St
Vicksburg, MS 39183
Phone: (601) 636-2256

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Vicksburg SDA School
Vicksburg, MS


Bowmar Avenue School
Vicksburg, MS




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT