Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dana Road Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded | 664 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 26, 2010

Dr. Lassiter is the most efficient principal I've seen since I'VE been in school. My godchildren absolutely love her! All of the different facets of the school seem to work together in perfect harmony! The parent center run by Ms. Sills and Ms. Lee provide resources, materials, and computer assistance for other parents to achieve their goals too! The pre-k teachers really have prepared my children for not only kindergarten, but first grade as well! i'm so impressed. And Like the other parent said, the whole family is involved! and in today's society, that's necessary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I love Dana Road School because they have some of the best teacher's. My child is well taken care of there and learn's so much! They make learning fun. They involve the entire family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2008

My grandchildren go to this school. It is great. They are very protective of our kids. It takes a little longer to pick them up in the afternoons, but it is well worth it. In this day and time, you need all the protection you can get. Thank you so much


Posted July 17, 2007

I am very impressed with Dana Road. My daughter started Kindergarten and thanks to her teacher and other teachers at Dana Road the transition was really easy. My daughter loves her teacher and the school, I am very pleased with Dana Road Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

I love this school! I had misgivings about my son going to school versus teaching him from home. I had heard a lot of negative remarks over the Vicksburg school district but Dana has proven to be more than I expected. I love the principal, she's very organized and disciplined. My sons teacher, Mrs. Watts, is great. She has shown patience and understanding and truly seems to care. I thank her for that. With her and my sons hard work he has overcome many fears and is becoming more outgoing day by day and he has shown a lot of enthusiasm for learning. Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2007

Dana has proven so far to be a great elementary school. My son is in kindergarden. Although he would rather stay at home than go to school he has grown leaps and bounds since he started school and I thank the teachers and the school for this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2005

I have been pleased with the education my children have received at Dana Road Elementary. The teachers are dedicated and concerned about the overall child. The arts programs are absolutly wonderful and the library staff is outstanding. Thank you for the guidance you have given my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2004

My son has had excellent teachers at Dana Road. His teacher this year stayed with him after school for 1 hour each day to help him keep up with his work, because he was having problems with his reading and math. He was also given extra help with his reading through a school program. Also the counselors were very helpful. Dana has a broader understanding of children that need help with learning and social skills problems. I was worried about Dana Elementary being 'too big' for my shy child. However, the teachers and counselors have been very helpful to him. They also were very responsive to any input that I had as a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2004

Dana Road Elementary has an excellent faculty and staff. I believe the teachers truly make a difference and care about each student. The teachers and students all work hard and do achieve excellent results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2003

I think Dana Road School can a better school if the teachers get more involved with their students one on one basis especially the ones that catches on slowly.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 75% 50%
White 22% 46%
Hispanic 2% 3%
Asian 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1247 Dana Rd
Vicksburg, MS 39180
Phone: (601) 619-2340

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Bowmar Avenue School
Vicksburg, MS



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT