Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bowmar Avenue School 5

Posted July 14, 2016
- a community member
The admission process is random. Each child has the option of being bussed in as well. They are not responsible for their own transportation. I have a child at this school, and the experience has been great. He has excelled.

Bowmar Avenue School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted October 31, 2015
- a parent
This school, its teachers, and students produce great test scores. However, it is unfair to not offer the same chances to every kid in that district. Keeping a child out because he doesn't meet their level of perfection is unfair and lacks integrity.


Bowmar Avenue School 1

Posted October 31, 2015
- a parent
The students are basically hand-picked. They are from homes where emphasis is placed on education- the parents must apply for admission and transport their children to and from school. Admission to Bowmar is a status symbol of sorts. The staff, parents and community have rallied around Bowmar's stellar reputation for high test scores (deservedly so), but this wonderful education is only offered to the "cream of the crop". I'm not negating the hard work of their teachers, but the work is quite a bit easier when you can just get rid of any child with a behavioral or emotional disability. My son suffers from Tourette's, and even though he has a mild case and rarely has outbursts (never known his to be profanity, either- mostly animal sounds), he was "transferred" to another school because of his "repeated disruptions of class". Although I was there at least twice a day (drop-off and pick-up), unbeknownst to me my son received nine behavioral referrals in the first five weeks of school. These resulted in a disciplinary hearing I knew nothing about and the powers that be deciding his disability could be better serviced elsewhere. I have to wonder if the fact that he is an average/below average student (hence lower test scores) were also a factor. I have since found out that his vacancy was filled by a gifted kid who just happens to be from a family very close to the administrator. Imagine my surprise to learn this type of weeding out happens frequently. Call me naive for being hurt, but I suppose I should've realized my son and I wouldn't meet the requirements for their clique. Bowmar's level of success is a source of pride for many and much easier to maintain when testing classes full of ideal children.

Bowmar Avenue School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 31, 2015
- a parent
Most of the teachers and staff were very nurturing and caring. I in no way blame them for the unfair way we were treated. They simply follow the directions of their administrator.

Bowmar Avenue School 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
When is comes to hardworking teachers, Bowmar has the best! They go the extra mile to make sure each student's needs are met. We have the highest scores in the district!


Bowmar Avenue School 5

Posted September 15, 2013
- a community member
Bowmar has it all- amazing faculty, awesome principal, involved parents, and wonderful students. As a former faculty member, I can attest to the quality of the current faculty. They truly love their school and its students. You will be hard pressed to find a more nurturing and quality school environment. The parents and faculty hold the students to high standards, and in turn, the students are hard workers and high achievers. Truly a school full of LEADERS!

Bowmar Avenue School 5

Posted September 13, 2013
- a teacher
I have taught at Bowmar for most of my teaching career. There is so much support from the other teachers, the parents, the PTO, the staff and the administration. We try very hard to meet the needs of each child. Our school was recently chosen for the Leader In Me program. It is an excellent way to prepare children for their futures. They are learning to be responsible for their actions and for their grades. They learn to be leaders in the classroom and in the school. It has made positive changes in behavior in the classroom. Bowmar is an awesome place to work at!

Bowmar Avenue School 5

Posted September 13, 2013
- a parent
I am so impressed with the "can do" attitude of everyone at this school. From the top administrator (principal) to the teachers, special areas, custodians, parents and students - everyone plays an important role. The Leader in me program adopted with the help of our local Chamber of Commerce really helps to instill leadership qualities and personal responsibility in students. Even though the school district may not have the funds to make the school facilities brand new, everyone does the best with what they have and success is seen on each and every smiling student and teacher's face!


Bowmar Avenue School 5

Posted September 13, 2013
- a parent
Bowmar is a fantastic school. Chosen as a Leader in Me school, leadership is modeled constantly by students, faculty, educators, and administration. Rigorous standards are set and expected in all areas of education. Parent participation is incredible. Parents are present and helping nearly 100% of yhe day. Bowmar is an exceptional school.

Bowmar Avenue School 1

Posted September 22, 2012
- a community member
The students here are very excited to be at Bowmar despite the fact that their school building is run down. However, good luck getting your child enrolled. Priority is given to siblings of students already attending Bowmar and due to the small class sizes this leaves very few open slots. The criteria used to fill these slots...luck of the draw. The demand for this level of education is there but students are being turned away. Our rejection letter prompted us to relocate to another school district that would provide our child with this education.

Nearby schools

Bowmar Avenue School
912 Bowmar Ave, Vicksburg, MS  39180
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (601) 636-2486
Last modified Bowmar Avenue School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top