Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6 & Ungraded
Public
Vicksburg, MS

5 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bowmar Avenue School 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
When is comes to hardworking teachers, Bowmar has the best! They go the extra mile to make sure each student's needs are met. We have the highest scores in the district!

Bowmar Avenue School 5

Posted September 15, 2013
- a community member
Bowmar has it all- amazing faculty, awesome principal, involved parents, and wonderful students. As a former faculty member, I can attest to the quality of the current faculty. They truly love their school and its students. You will be hard pressed to find a more nurturing and quality school environment. The parents and faculty hold the students to high standards, and in turn, the students are hard workers and high achievers. Truly a school full of LEADERS!


Bowmar Avenue School 5

Posted September 13, 2013
- a teacher
I have taught at Bowmar for most of my teaching career. There is so much support from the other teachers, the parents, the PTO, the staff and the administration. We try very hard to meet the needs of each child. Our school was recently chosen for the Leader In Me program. It is an excellent way to prepare children for their futures. They are learning to be responsible for their actions and for their grades. They learn to be leaders in the classroom and in the school. It has made positive changes in behavior in the classroom. Bowmar is an awesome place to work at!

Bowmar Avenue School 5

Posted September 13, 2013
- a parent
I am so impressed with the "can do" attitude of everyone at this school. From the top administrator (principal) to the teachers, special areas, custodians, parents and students - everyone plays an important role. The Leader in me program adopted with the help of our local Chamber of Commerce really helps to instill leadership qualities and personal responsibility in students. Even though the school district may not have the funds to make the school facilities brand new, everyone does the best with what they have and success is seen on each and every smiling student and teacher's face!

Bowmar Avenue School 5

Posted September 13, 2013
- a parent
Bowmar is a fantastic school. Chosen as a Leader in Me school, leadership is modeled constantly by students, faculty, educators, and administration. Rigorous standards are set and expected in all areas of education. Parent participation is incredible. Parents are present and helping nearly 100% of yhe day. Bowmar is an exceptional school.


Bowmar Avenue School 1

Posted September 22, 2012
- a community member
The students here are very excited to be at Bowmar despite the fact that their school building is run down. However, good luck getting your child enrolled. Priority is given to siblings of students already attending Bowmar and due to the small class sizes this leaves very few open slots. The criteria used to fill these slots...luck of the draw. The demand for this level of education is there but students are being turned away. Our rejection letter prompted us to relocate to another school district that would provide our child with this education.

Bowmar Avenue School 0
no rating

Posted March 11, 2010
- a parent
This school has great parent involvement. They even had a parent do the yearbook two years ago!!! It was awesome. My son loved going there. The school has great pride. I would love to go back there if we could. He learned a ton and was very prepared for second grade at a high expectations private school that we are at now.

Bowmar Avenue School 4

Posted October 22, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Bowmar Avenue School 5

Posted December 11, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Bowmar Avenue School 5

Posted November 07, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bowmar Avenue School
912 Bowmar Ave, Vicksburg, MS  39180
(601) 636-2486
Last modified Bowmar Avenue School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bowmar Avenue School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top