Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Warren Central Junior High School

Public | 7-8 & ungraded | 763 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2012

We love the new Winter Guard! They have done an amazing job in their first year. This school also has a strong Girls Club (civic organization).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2009

I think my school is the best because the teachers, principals, and other fellow students that make it the best place to go!!! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2008

I think that the principal works his buttocks off to help meet the needs of the students. He is caring , concerned and has their best interests at heart. Keep up the great work!


Posted September 27, 2008

I am a parent of a child attending WCJH. I feel its a lot of favoritism going on in the school system. The teachers do not take the time to get to know the children as individuals. Of course, my child is not one of their favorites. The teachers love to suspend,give after school detention,in school suspension, rather than communicating with the parents that are concerned about their children education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2007

I think wcjh is bad a place to send your kids because they have to many old outdated teachers and to many parents working there that let there kids get by anything they want to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

I belive that the kids are not getting prepared for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

I believe that my children aren't safe at this school. I also believe that it's wrong for them not to have any freedom at all! I think its not helping them to get ready in high school. They,ll be very confused when they get to high school. It'll be like another planet to them. -Stacy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2006

I think this school is not helping the teens get ready for high school. It seems like they are in an elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2006

I am a parent of a child attending WCJH. I feel that there is not enough time put into the studies. The children in the 7th and 8th grade are going through a great transition from elementary and they don't recieve any extra help. The students are just thrown out there to sink or swim. This is a very important time in a child's life when they change from a child to a teenager. The teachers should be a little more sensitive to the students needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2004

I feel that Warren Central Jr. high does not have the ability to care for children with special needs. I also feel that the district as a whole is very unorganized and is also understaffed. As a parent of a child with several disabilities I have had an ongoing struggle with this school district to have him placed in the proper setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 63% in 2013.

386 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

383 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

349 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

349 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 93% in 2012.

367 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 53% 50%
White 45% 46%
Asian 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1630 Baldwin Ferry Rd
Vicksburg, MS 39180
Phone: (601) 638-3981

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Vicksburg SDA School
Vicksburg, MS





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT