Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Wayne Academy

Private | PK-12 | 329 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Waynesboro

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $58,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $527.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 30, 2009

My child has attended this school since day care. A gradute of public school myself, I am very pleased with the decision to send my daughter to WA. The smaller class size and challenging cirruculum I feel wil help to equip her to succeed. She is in a safe and non-threatening environment at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

This school is wonderful. At the public school, you hear of teachers spending more time disciplining the bad children than actually teaching. All of the children here are well mannered and have good home teachings. I feel my child is safe, loved, and given all the tools he needs to succeed in life at Wayne academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2008

This is a good school although not perfect but what school is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2006

I just graduated from wayne academy this year. I transferred my 11th grade year to the academy. The atmostphere up there is great. We now have a great principle who cares alot about the student and is trying to make some changes up there to help us further our education. As of right now the teachers get a 3 because some teach and some don't The extracurricular activities are great..we have one of the best sport programs in our district and in state. Parent involvement is great...especially coming around to games and prom and stuff like that. Safety...you can't get any safer than it is up there but the discipline is very slack. I know because I got away with being absent alot and other stuff...but they're working on it. overall its a good school, public school is more strict and has further education as of right now..
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 20, 2006

I have attended Wayne Academy. Although the school is not perfect, the smaller number of students and the one one one attention I was able to receive from the teachers made a large difference in my education.The athletic program is wonderful and thriving. In addition to competing in athletic competition, we also competeted in numerous academic competitions. Wayne Academy is an ideal school to enroll your children in if you are looking for a wonderful, family-like atmosphere in which your child can grow and mature.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 4, 2005

My son attended Wayne Academy in his 8th and 9th grade year. We had moved him from public school to here. We were very impressed with the qaulity of education he received. At the end of the 9th grade we moved to Washington State where he attended public school. My husband and I missed the one on one type of education and small calssrooms. Wayne Academy will always hold and special place in our hearts. I would recommend this school to anyone and I have to a relative who has a daugheter who is three yars old.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2005

My son transfered to this school and I have been very upset with the educational level and how the whole school is ran by the parents and not teachers or the principal. Think seriously before sending your child to this schoool if want your child to get an education and worried about whos who of Wayne county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2004

I have a daughter who will be in 10th grade this year. Last year was her first year at this school. She previously attended the daycare as a child. I am an educator and can say that Wayne Academy has been the best thing my husband and I could have done for our daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2004

My child just completed the 4 year Daycare program at Wayne Academy. Every day when she came home I was amazed at what she'd learned. I want to praise this school and the Daycare and most of all her teacher. Thank you for a job well done. I look forward to the years to come with my children attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 46%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Black 1% 50%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 3%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 308
Waynesboro, MS 39367
Phone: (601) 735-2921

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT