Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public district
Wiggins, MS
Students enrolled: 791
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Stone High School 2

Posted August 04, 2015
- a community member
This school is a three ring circus. The principal is rude and doesn't care anything about customer service. The teachers exempt students from finals and then give them zeros. Then the office staff are unable to assist in resolving issues the correct way. Instead they just push you off until the first day of school to get the issue resolved when the teachers return. What a way to provide an education!!! The office staff need to be educated on policies and procedures. They need to make the principal aware of issues that arise. The principal needs to take customer service classes. She was the rudest perso. I have ever met!!!!!

Stone High School 2

Posted August 07, 2014
- a student
I am a student at Stone High School and it is a school that I would not want my students attending. The staff and principal talk about how they want to avoid any conflicts that students face with other students, but it is just talk. They do not pay attention to warning signs or potential distractions for children until there is a major outburst. I do not mind the uniforms, but that is all they care about. If one's shorts are too short, an inch shorter than supposed to be, they will send you to detention which just makes the student avoid class all day because of this minor mistake, and yet the school worries about a student missing a day of class. The building itself is falling apart and the cafeteria is right next to the sewer lines that overflow and release outrageous odor everyday. I give it 2 stars because the stars go to the teachers who care about the quality of our education and actually help us, other than that I would give zero.


Stone High School 4

Posted April 29, 2013
- a student
The education is up to standards for the average population, but just as every small town school, they don't have the funds to have a special education program designed for those who highly gifted. Other than that, it's about the same as any other present day average school. For the most part, you get what you want to out of school. As for the outsider issue, you make friends and you're never going to have everyone's approval no matter where you go to school. Yes, some teachers have favorites because it is a small town and they have known some of the students since they were born... It's only natural. Though, I will say, I was an outsider and found the respect from teachers, students, and faculty because of my work ethic and friendliness.

Stone High School 2

Posted February 27, 2012
- a student
The building is very old. The bathrooms are very unsanitary. It is not a great learning environment. The student's aren't very open to new-comers. They'll be kind to you, but never accept you because you are not from where they are (with an exception of a few awesome people) If you have a choice between the Coast's high quality, new schools and this school, choose the coast. I don't only want to be negative; there are a few great teachers that have good teaching skills and care about thiers students. Most teachers are friendly and understanding.

Stone High School 1

Posted March 09, 2011
- a parent
Rate this school.......I have had four children graduate from Stone High School. Back then it a was amoung the best. But today if a family was basing a relocation on the school system, I would have to tell them do not move. The tearchers are not interested in teaching, they are interested in the pay check, the time off and retirement. Our administration is more interested in alternative class rooms rather than demanding a good teaching enviroment.


Stone High School 5

Posted May 21, 2009
- a parent
my child is the 3rd generation to graduate from SHS. I Love this School

Stone High School
no rating

Posted November 30, 2008
- a student
stone high school is one of the best schools in the county. I enjoy the environment and everybody.

Stone High School 2

Posted July 08, 2008
- a parent
I am a parent of a former student. The attendance policy at this school is too relaxed, the teachers do not communicate with parents even after repeated calls to the school, the school lists one set of rules in the handbook but do not have the gumption to back them up. ou basically don't even have to show up and they'l graduate you.


Stone High School 5

Posted January 23, 2008
- a parent
The dress codes are only a small part of the schools attention and not a big part of the day to day agenda. Only once in the year that I attended SHS did they have a prayer meeting and it was organized by the students not the administration. When you attend SHS and get a chance to experiance the comrodery and support you get from the staff and students there, you will give a different review.

Stone High School 3

Posted October 13, 2007
- a parent
I am a parent, who now has children in college. My children made good grades at Stone High School, but they realize that they were not prepared for college. My son because of some discipline infractions was taken out of the class room some days, and made to write lines out of a book in a room, because his shirt came untucked, he had a cell phone in his book bag, and another time he was not sitting down in his desk when the bell rang. When a student is out of class he/she misses instruction that may be important. Rules should be followed, but so should staying in the classroom.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Stone High School
400 East Border Ave, Wiggins, MS  39577
(601) 928-5492
Last modified Stone High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Stone High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top