Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Seven Holy Founders School

Private | PK-8 | 204 students

We are best known for academic successes.

 
 

Living in Affton

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $117,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 19, 2012

Holy Cross Academy takes an active interest in both of my children. This is an excellent school if your looking for a place that gets to know your child on an individual basis and then works to their specific needs. All of the faculty from 5th grade through preschool, including the specialty teachers (Spanish, Music, Computer...) know my children personally. The school has an open line of communication makes it extremely easy to approach anyone with questions, comments or concerns. They are always open to suggestions and appreciate feedback from parents. I am very happy to have my children at a school where they feel so at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

My son has ADD/ADHD and we were working very hard with Dr.s and the preschool director to guide him in the right direction. To add more structure for him, we were going to have him attend 5 days a wk. instead of 2. Everything had been set up through acct. manager. When we were set to start we were informed that our son could NOT come 5 days a week. Two new students were starting that wk. I called to inquire if these students had all paperwork turned in. I found out that only 1 of the students had turned in paperwork, which should have left 1 spot open for my son. Mind you, we had also been paying tuition all year and our son was already established there. I called the principal to no avail. When I spoke with act. man. again she said "I don't know how Mrs. Chris feels about-(she then stopped herself)-Mrs. Chris decides who attends the preschool program." DIRECT QUOTE! . We were not negligent parents, we were trying our best to help our son and Seven Holy Founders refused too due to his disability. I would also like to say that when we toured SHF we informed Mrs. Chris of the behavior problems and she assured us that it would be a non-issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

Thanks to all the Faculty, Staff and Administration for the wonderful work that you have done and continue to do for my children. They are in a safe, friendly, warm and caring environment. I do not hesitate to tell people about the wonderful things that are happening at SHF School. They love being there! Keep it up!!! Love the on-line grading program!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2011

My son has been attending SHF for 4 years, and now our daughter is in preschool. We love the teachers, the athletics, and the strong sense of community. We are proud to send our children to a school so rich in tradition where our children are challenged and embraced. Its nice to feel a part of something great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2011

Our children love attending Seven Holy Founders! They have a challenging curriculum and amazing athletic program. Most of the graduates go on to their first choice private high schools and do exceedingly well. It is a great investment in our child's future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2011

My children currently attend SHF and we are very pleased. The student to teacher ratio is outstanding, academics are rigorous, and the teachers are caring, A great school with suoerb parish support and excellent leaders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

I am an SHF alumnae. I attended SHF k-8. Honestly, grade school was one the worst part sof my life. The students teased certain kids & made their lives horrible. Once I went to the teacher with a severe bullying problem & the teacher said it was normal for kids to go through this. The education was good & I am a smart young adult. I just feel the cliques that reside between the students & the parents are very disheartening. There were about 20+ kids who dropped out throughout the years, and most of them because of bullying. I know bullying happens at every school but SHF does not discourage it. I would never send my kids there. My younger brother (who my parents chose public school for) is having an excellent time.


Posted March 12, 2010

My daughter was diagnosed dyslexic by the public school and given books on tape. I sent her to SHF school and thier special Learning Center. They not only taught her to read, but brought her up past her grade level. The bond between students was amazing to me. As my daughter said. ''We are not a school, we are family.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

As a tutor of several 7th grade math students at this institution, I am dreadfully unimpressed with the curriculum. There is no reason to spend 5 class sessions on rounding numbers. For being a supposed 'exemplary' institution, their mathematics and algebra curricula are lacking.


Posted April 3, 2007

Seven Holy Founders does an wonderful job preparing students for the top notch St. Louis High Schools. Year after year, their students are accepted into their first choice schools at extraordinary rates. The teachers are great and the principal provides strong, focused leadership. I strongly recommend SHF as a school and as a loving community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2007

My daughter began her 6th grade year at the local public middle school, but after a few weeks it was clearly not in her best interest to continue her education at this school.I was concerned about having her change schools again, but after one visit at Seven Holy Founders, I had absolutely no doubts about changing schools.The care and compassion has helped to make the transition easy. And never have we felt more welcomed and at home than we do now.My child's whole attitude towards learning has improved remarkably.She's also has a new respect for her teachers;something that was severely lacking at the previous school.Communication, positive reinforcement, teacher enthusiasm, and accountability are just a few things that make this school a step ahead of the rest.I would strongly recommend this school to anyone who wants to give their child the best in education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 74%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Black 1% 17%
Hispanic 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Deacon Bro. Joel A. Lechner, OSM
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (314) 633-0129

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of St. Louis
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Cor Jesu Academy
St. John Vianney HS
Ursuline Academy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6737 South Rock Hill Road
Affton, MO 63123
Website: Click here
Phone: (314) 631-8149

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Salem Lutheran School
St. Louis, MO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT