Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ridgewood Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 493 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 22, 2012

I LOVE Ridgewood! The teachers all do there best to teach. All of the teachers, except one or 2, are "ok". The rest totaly AWESOME! The students are a mix of rich, "free lunch", smart, not as bright, and ethnically. Ridgewood teaches good character and you have many clubs such as duct tape, pet... They also have band, poms, cheerleading..... The bathrooms have short stalls but they are now in the process of buying/putting up new tall ones. The school is old but functions, alot of the times the AC dosen't kick in so it gets hot. Ridgewood has come a long way in the past decade. teachers who went to ridgewood will tell you about the horrors of the past. "fights everyday, drugs, smoking in the bathroom, bulling..." The art teacher has told me that when she started working at Ridgewood 15 years ago the kids couldn't even be trusted to use SCISSORS! now there are barely any fights, no smoking,...... The teachers have done a great job cleaning up Ridgewood.


Posted April 26, 2011

I am currently a college student at Missouri State University, and I attended Ridgewood for middle school. Ridgewood was probably the worst school I have ever been to or known people to go to. Starting from the administration, the school faculty is all a popularity contest and very political. The teachers are not very effective at teaching (their job) and there are many discipline problems within this school; don't let the facade of a "National School of Character" title fool you. Ridgewood is a bad school, and I do not recommending moving within their school zone; as stated by the school board and district administration, you cannot attend another middle school in the district if you are in Ridgewood's zone. I would recommend going to Fox Middle School instead.


Posted October 14, 2010

The only reason I do not give this school 5 stars is because of the bathroom facility. My dauther attends this school and i have been in the school many times. The stalls are short. This posses a problem because my dauther has compalined about children looking over the door and walls while she is doing her business, then the girls would run out in the hall and tell all. its a real problem with cell phones that take photos and now, pictures on facebook of children going to the bathroom. Other than that, the schools is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2009

My daughter just started 7th grade at Ridgewood this year after homeschooling for 2 years due to anxiety issues. She is also has an autism spectrum disorder which can make the school environment difficult for her. But let me say that the staff at Ridgewood has been absolutely amazing. I cannot begin to express how grateful I am for all they've done with my daughter in such a short amount of time. By far the best school my daughter has ever attended. Love them!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2009

what a school! Im a student there and love it. the teachers are amasing the prises you can win there are cool and we even had an up comming artist preform for us! Ridgewood Middle School ROCKS Sydni-voager- current RMS student
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2006

This is the best school ever! i'm a 8th grader right now and i love all the teachers! Even last years was great! I'm glad that i'm at this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2006

I went to Ridgewood last year but moved to Fox. Ridgewood was awesome! They don't let you get away with everything like Fox but they are not near a strict! It is awesome. I wish I could go back! -Kyle Knisley
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 14, 2006

I am a student at Ridgewood Middle School. It is a lot of fun and very academic at the same time. There are many different choices for the students to make. Ridgewood actually makes me want to come to school, even though I love it anyway. There are so many great teachers like Mr. Mcneil, Mr. Reed, Mrs. Kohlmann, Ms. Heiken, and Ms. Fox. They all make learning a lot of fun for me and sometimes the teachers. Ridgewood rocks! ~Jordan F. 2005-2006 Stingray
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2006

I am a former student of Ridgewood.(went for 7th grade) The teachers are wonderful and care about the students. When I was there, there were hardly any fights and the academics are great! There are many extra-curricular choices to choose from and the band program is excellent. There are no uniforms (unlike my current school in Alabama). People accept you for who you are. Everyone also gets thier own locker to store stuff in. The best ways to keep good grades are to behave, pay attention, and be friendly (not too friendly though). Most of the teachers there are really nice(like Mrs Heiken, Mrs Maxwell, and Mr McNeil). Ridgewood is very inviting and at the same time an outstanding school with outstaning acheivements, students, and teachers/staff. T this school, students and their academics rate #1 on the priority list!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 5, 2005

This school was amazing! The teachers, and the staff truly cared about everyone, and was willing to help anyone who needed help. Ridgewood has really changed their reputation through the years. This is just I can't even explain, an awesome awesome school!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 56% in 2014.

238 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

230 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 51% in 2014.

248 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2014.

184 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2014.

248 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students73%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White72%
Free or reduced-price lunch63%
Students with disabilities33%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students76%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White76%
Free or reduced-price lunch65%
Students with disabilities35%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students64%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White65%
Free or reduced-price lunch51%
Students with disabilities22%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students63%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White64%
Free or reduced-price lunch58%
Students with disabilities37%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students65%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White67%
Free or reduced-price lunch52%
Students with disabilities31%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 55% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students93%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White93%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 74%
Black 2% 17%
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1401 Ridgewood School Rd
Arnold, MO 63010
Phone: (636) 282-1459

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT