Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mill Creek Upper Elementary School

Public | 5-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

I have seen my daughter gain amazing independence since beginning at Mill Creek this year. She takes responsibility for her day and she actually enjoys school. Most teachers are very willing to help the children succeed. That's wonderful to see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2013

My school is the best because the learning is so easy and the food tastes really really really good!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

I am a 5th grader and I love this place. If you are trying to find a new school for your kid or its a new year this is the school to pick. and I know for a fact all the students will welcom your son or daughter.


Posted May 10, 2011

Reason 2 that Mill Creek is not a great school: Communication between parent and teachers are not enforced by the principle or assistant principle. Example: If something is sent home about an activity in science and I don't receive it, the principles refer me back to the teacher instead of dealing with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

The teachers are (most of the time) wonderful, but I think they could do better within the lines of control and discipline.


Posted December 11, 2008

My daughter keeps telling me how fun this school is, because she loves to switch classes. She has 2 teachers, 1 for the first part of the day, the other for the other part of the day. I love this school for her because she has the 2 different subjects taught by two different teachers, and so she's not bored. Also, the playground is farely nice, along with the basketball court. I think this school is very nice for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2008

What my twin children keep telling me on fridays are about how much fun they have at Merit Pass. Merit Pass is an in-school activity which you earn for having a 75% or higher on every piece of work done. It is an absolutely wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2007

My daughter has been attending Belton School district since the 4th Grade, her grades are A's & B's, and she is very active with the school and Community programs. The Teacher's she has had are Wonderful, including the Before & After School Program and Teachers. I have nothing but Wonderful things to say about Mill Creek, and the Belton School District in General! Sincerely, a Very Pleased Parent in Belton
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2005

My son has been going to this school for half a year & we absolutley love it. The teachers are great, the principal is very hands on, & any concerns are addressed VERY quickly. The school itself looks wonderful, very clean, very spacious.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

This school has a very caring nurse, most of the teachers are good. The biggest problem we have had is special education. My child is in special ed and is needs are not being met like the should. Things that I was told before I moved here would be done are not being done. After the IEP, I was told certain things would be done to insure my child received what he needed and it is not being done. I have even talk to the person who is my child's special ed coordiator and still things are not getting done. The academic programs are fine, but could be better. There are no extra activities for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

403 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

403 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

403 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 52% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

356 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students54%
Black48%
Hispanic43%
White55%
Free or reduced-price lunch45%
Students with disabilities29%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students55%
Black38%
Hispanic51%
White57%
Free or reduced-price lunch46%
Students with disabilities28%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students47%
Black26%
Hispanic37%
White51%
Free or reduced-price lunch39%
Students with disabilities31%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students57%
Black50%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
White60%
Free or reduced-price lunch48%
Students with disabilities16%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students56%
Black29%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
White62%
Free or reduced-price lunch51%
Students with disabilities29%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 74%
Hispanic 11% 5%
Black 9% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30am
School end time
  • 3:30pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Kimberly Mauck
Fax number
  • (816) 348-1595

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

308 South Cleveland
Belton, MO 64012
Website: Click here
Phone: (816) 348-1576

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT