Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cordill-Mason Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 673 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 31, 2011

I love CME because they have wonderful teachers,students,staff,and principal!Also because of the fun activites,friends,and assemblys!This is the school to go to if you don't have a home school!CME would love to have you as a new student and will welcome you the minute you walk in the door!


Posted October 19, 2010

CME is a GREAT school with an outstanding staff. Love it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2010

The school I will commend on family involvement. I moved from one district to this district in hopes of better education for my autistic 7yr.old son. Instead I found a setback. Although Prime Time{before school care} is located inside the school building, my son is unable to attend. The site coordinator after 3wks, stated that she was unable to accommodate my son and his special needs and keep him safe. I am a single mother of 3sons, I must work, WORK FOR ME IS NOT AN OPTION. I can't believe the only time my son can transition into a school environment/social skills is only between the hrs of 9-4:00. SADDDD
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

Wonderful staff, teachers, and wonderful school! All three of my sons have attended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2008

I go there, and everything is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

My children went to this school, because it was so highly regarded. I was very disappointed, as children are like cattle being herded through. He came from a private school which every teacher thought he was great. My daughter loved her kindergarten teacher. She is now retired, so one less teacher now who actually cares. Every teacher can be different, but this school showed us it only cared about keeping its great school test numbers, instead of caring about the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2005

My daughter has been attending CME since kindergarten. Teachers recognized early on that she might have learning disabilities. I was extremely impressed when the principal, Mr. Alan Michelson, became personally involved in our quest to find out what needed to be done to not only isolate and 'diagnose' the problem, but how to get my daughter up to speed. The teaching staff is also impressive. Most live in this community so we have the opportunity to get to know them outside the educational arena. I'm especially greatful to Amy Sullivan for her love of children, her ability to reach those children that would seem 'unreachable' to others and her teaching style. She will always have a special place in our hearts as will the exceptional teaching that cordill-mason offers its students and parents alike. No school has parent participation like this school does. Way to go CME!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2005

This school is amazing. My son went here, and I am lucky enough to have my daughter attend next year. The parental involvement is out of this world, I have been on field trips where the parent count has been higher than the student count. The teachers encourage the parents to stay involved, and they truly do not leave any children behind. Going here has definitely prepared my son for middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2005

Parents are always welcome to have lunch with their children, there are lots of activities for parents to participate in to be involved with your childrens education. Test scores are above (way above) the states average. I am amazed at the excitement of the teaching and learning going on every day! my children have wonderful friends. The schools population is the best. Great neighborhoods, teachers, and community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2004

Principal, teachers and staff are all the best. My son's second grade teacher is very creative in finding ways to help him with his problem subjects. I've never seen parent involvment like I have at this school. PTA night is standing room only. The teacher's at the middle school say they can tell which students came from Cordill-Mason because they're so prepared. We love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2004

My children started CME last year after having been in Kansas schools for a few years. The teachers at CME really helped my children with the transition and getting caught up academically. This is the best school my children have ever attended. The professionalism of the teachers and principal were outstanding. I am very proud to say my children attend Cordill Mason Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students63%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White64%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students74%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White77%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students78%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White80%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students76%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White77%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students79%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students83%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White82%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students88%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White87%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 75%
Black 7% 17%
Hispanic 5% 5%
Asian 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4001 SW Christiansen Rd
Blue Springs, MO 64014
Phone: (816) 224-1370

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT