Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Franklin Smith Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 507 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

The principal is truly the kind of principal that you want to envision for your elementary aged children. She does know all the students names. She is fair but nurturing. The teachers genuinely care about the kids. They are not just shipping them off to the next grade. I have nothing but praise for this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2011

The principal at FSE is AMAZING. She knows all of the children's names and greets them each morning. The teachers go above and beyond for each of their students and the PTA works hard to provide for the students educationally as well as recreationally. I am proud to be a parent of an FSE Mustang
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2011

The principal is an amazing woman, she very obviously cares about each and every student. She knows everyone's name and something about each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2010

Top notch! The Principal knows all her kids names and who the parents are...very involved. All the teachers are wonderful and make sure all students are where they need to be. The curriculum is aces...provides a great challenge for our child!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

This was my elementary school and to me it was awesome, it has the best teachers, I have fond memories of Franklin Smith!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2009

My daughter is starting 4th grade at FSE this fall and has been there since Kdg. We have always loved it and they are constantly updating themselves with techniques and technology. The principal, counselor, teachers, and support staff have always been so helpful! My daughter has ADHD and they have been great working with us! Go FSE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2009

I have 2 children going to this school currently, one has a speech impediment and the teachers are absolutly wonderful. My third grader loves it. I receive weekly folders from the schools letting me know what is going on, I also receive folders from there teachers letting me know what is going on in the classsroom. Add in the fact that the teachers use email to thier advantage thier is always communication open between us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

I have two children that attend this school. They love it, I love it. The lunch system has been updated this year. The PTO is awesome. We get weekly folders telling what has been going on. The teachers give you plenty of chances to visit the class room and see what your child is learning. We love FSE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2005

I think that Franklin Smith is a super great school. My daughter had started Kindergarten and was not reading well and just halfway through the school year she was reading great, and able to really sound out the bigger words great also. I loved the music performance they put on last year, the kids seemed to really enjoy it. I really think the parent involvement is good, could be a little better but I have been to all avtivities and it always seems that all the childrens parents in my daughters class where there. I have never been to anything that is unorganized at Franklin Smith. The staff are wonderful and the teachers are very very caring and detailed when it comes to the children. I rate them PERFECT...THANK YOU TEACHERS FOR ALL YOUR HARD WORK FOR OUR CHILDREN!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2003

Franklin Smith has provided an average educational experience for my kids. It is a little behind in technology (ie. limited computer availability, lunch money system is outdated. The music program in the school I felt was below average. Parent participation is good depending on the event. Comparing this school to others that my children have attended, I would rate it average.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 42% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 46% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 51% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 48% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students47%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial36%
American Indiann/a
White54%
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilities50%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students75%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial46%
American Indiann/a
White83%
Free or reduced-price lunch71%
Students with disabilities50%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students56%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White58%
Free or reduced-price lunch48%
Students with disabilities64%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students61%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White66%
Free or reduced-price lunch52%
Students with disabilities36%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students48%
Black31%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White56%
Free or reduced-price lunch45%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students62%
Black39%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White68%
Free or reduced-price lunch56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students61%
Black31%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White70%
Free or reduced-price lunch51%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 74%
Black 10% 17%
Hispanic 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Janet Castle
Fax number
  • (816) 224-1378

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1609 Clark Rd
Blue Springs, MO 64015
Phone: (816) 224-1375

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Timothy Lutheran School
Blue Springs, MO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT