Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Blue Springs South High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 24, 2014

This school is great! The teachers are respectful and willing to help and encourage anyone. They don't single people out. The counslers are amazing and very encouraging. They are willing to listen. Problems are resolved as well as possible. There are many opportunities in activities to choose from. The coaching is incredible and they really know what they are talking about. They compete very well in all activities and each sport or activity gets recognition via announcements or displayment in the trophy case.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2014

BSSHS just got 6 national merit finalist and 2 commendable for 2013-2014. There are so many options for AP and advance students. Compared to other schools I've seen, I'm happy that I got my high school education at BSSHS because it has prepared me for college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2012

The school shows much concern about the students and their success. Those student who have an IEP are treated like the regular students and not set aside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2009

Not impressed at all with students or faculty.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2009

Have a daughter who was a 2002 grad- have a daughter who I sent to private school who graduated in 2008, have a son who needs extra help who attends here- 2002- grad now a teacher but discovered she has math learning disability which was never addressed while in a blue springs school,got very low math grades and experts never attempted to discover ld in math- 2008 grad daughter from private high school would never have done as well if we had allowed her to attend bsshs- she got an excellent education because we placed her privately-son who needs support instead gets written up and disciplined every other day, suffering major depression and is ay extreme risk of dropping out- no staff has adequate tgraining and are lacking in compassion and support to students who are in need of extra effort to be successful-
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2009

My child packed as many advanced placement courses as we could into the schedule. Participated in athletic and music programs...music program was average, sport expeirence was above average. Overall a very good experience with some high points and some low points. Earned academic scholarships to attend out of state college for about half the normal cost. No complaints here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2008

Now that a new band director is at the school, the band is the place to be. They know how to handle things coming from a rough neighbor hood. The teachers arent so hot, football players basically think they are incredible but really they are no where near anything special, but band is amazing, go Jaguar Pride
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2008

The main flaw of this school is the overall abundance of athletic people on a high horse, especially the upper classmen, I went to this school for 2 years and I couldnt beleve how rude everyone was, I then moved and was attending BSHS were i found the overall atmosphere to be much more pleasent, the teachers and students tend to be a bit more polite and the athletics are focused on fun and not drilling like your in the military.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2008

Anyone who wants to join a sport or activity has to have a car or be hanging around the school until someone can get off work. They get out at two and clubs last maybe 1 hour and the rest of the time are just hanging around school which is frowned upon. Not every kids family is well off enough to get a car and they feel hanging around at the school for hours is not right. When this was brought to the attention of the activities director who was matter of factly agreeing, but no suggestions. They really push kids to join an activity and it's a shame kids without cars are excluded because their family can't afford to provide them with a car.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2007

I visited the campus last week and i came to find out that this school has the vast majority of its students involved in some kind of activity. Unlike Blue Springs there were no students doing any drugs or any bullying by the upperclassmen, in fact the upperclassmen were almost like the same age as the sophomores they all worked together to complete goals and to finish assignments to the highest degree.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

BSSHS is not what it is suppose to be. The Anatomy teacher for example ask's the question: 'Define dehydration'. WOW a Dr. called her on this. Their child got it wrong and the dad who is a Dr. called and said, 'WHAT'? This school is extremely lacking in the kids are kids and not adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

I really think BSSHS is a great school. I mean they have so many things to do. It give you the opportunity to do things that you like to do. I believe that this is a unique school and all students stand out no matter who they are, what they do or where they are from. Everyone is willing to help each other and I'm one of them. Well thanks for giving this opportunity of giving us the opportunity of writing what we think of our school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2007

I think some of these comments are a little out of line. I belive our school has a great education, and the teachers pay attention to the students... even the ones who are not male or play on the football team. I believe we all believe in our sports to get other kids involved so they arent out doing drugs or having sex. I would reccomend this school to everyone!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2007

Blue Springs South High School pays to much attention to sports and not enough on education. This school is all about the sports and not the education. two thumbs down here too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

It is in my opinion and will be yours too that unless you have $$$ you don't get to participate in most of the Sports in BSSHS. You can practice with them but they will never put you in the game. You may run track but unless your fast or the best you will not be in the meet. Teachers and Faculty are great and counselors are fantastic. I had a problem with my child and the Principle was more than willing to help me out in the matter. I have been totally satisfied with everything this school has to offer except their attitude for sports. I believe all kids should be able to participate in the game or track meet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2006

I think Blue Springs South is an excellent school with diversified opportunities. I would agree with other reviewers that there is an overly strong emphasis on athletics. We recognized not a deserving student/athlete but a great athlete that was popular with the administration. But overall a great school with good participation by the parents and a good safe environment to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

Thumbs down for this school. If your child plays football, excellent school. The counselors I believe care. The teachers seem to only care if your child is on the football or if the teacher is a male, if you are a pretty girl. I and many of my friends would never recommend this school to anyone. To think I moved to BS because I heard the schools were the best. Not....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2005

Blue Springs South high school is a great school if you are a foot ball player. However more academic programs such as debate and forensics recieve little if any attention. These kids go to tournaments all weekend and spend countless hours putting togeather structured arguements about domestic and foreign issues. Since this is a public school, more attention should be given to academic success instead of physical talents. While they hold assemblies for the football and basket ball teams, nothing is done for the students in other activities. The administrators need to grow up and act like adults and encourage learning, and stop trying to win popularity contests.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 12, 2005

I believe this school overall is a good school. There are good class choices, the faculty however, tend to fall a little short. This school is too focused on the football, a lot of resources are spent there. The cheerleader's parents fund their portion of participation. Yet the Director of Activities views them as less than important. Most teachers seem to turn a deaf ear to kids that need them and instead focus on the kids that (their parents) can get them somewhere. The district needs to focus on how to get more to graduate than if the boys have more. The girls are who have higher grades and get less attention. If the parents weren't there doing so much this school would fail miserably. The faculty need to get excited about their jobs. These kids need you to wake up and care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2004

The counselors at Blue Springs South High School are fantastic. One counselor visited our home several times to help our daughter through a difficult time. We are proud of our school and their committment to the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
39%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 54% in 2013.

431 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
81%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

526 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 69% in 2013.

540 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 61% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
66%
Government

The state average for Government was 54% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
44%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 47% in 2013.

451 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students30%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White31%
Free or reduced-price lunch28%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Algebra II

All Students71%
Black43%
Hispanicn/a
White74%
Free or reduced-price lunch60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Biology

All Students90%
Black72%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Free or reduced-price lunch70%
Students with disabilities43%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Students83%
Black67%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Free or reduced-price lunch61%
Students with disabilities29%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Students49%
Black20%
Hispanicn/a
White54%
Free or reduced-price lunch35%
Students with disabilities15%

Government

All Students37%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White39%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Students67%
Black43%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Free or reduced-price lunch51%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 74%
Black 12% 17%
Hispanic 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Randy Dowell
Fax number
  • (816) 224-1324

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1200 SE Adams Dairy Parkway
Blue Springs, MO 64014
Phone: (816) 224-1315

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Blue Springs High School
Blue Springs, MO



Grain Valley High School
Grain Valley, MO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT