Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Freshman Center - G. Baker Building

Public | 9 | 1070 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 28, 2014

I am a current student at the freshman center I happen to run into a lot of problems such as racism I also experience overcrowded issues almost everyday I get pushed down in the halls or hit by either a person or a backpack I also tend to get ignored in my school because I behave most of the staffs attention is directed to the misbehaving children it is a rushed environment I happen to experience issues with me being in "sped" and for people who do not know what that means that means I am a special education student with that I get made fun of by students because I am in sped classes but happen to have teachers that understand which does help. anther issue I have consists of not being cool so I don't get a lot of student attention I have one friend in this building and I am always bullied here so now I have gotten to the point that I document everything that happens to me in a day to show my parents what it is like to be in the freshman center. So my advice to incoming 8th graders is to watch your back be strong and you will survive after all its just one year Fro the "cool kids" you will fit in to the poisoness environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2013

Blue Springs Freshman Center is overcrowded! My daughter attends and can barely move from class to class. They assign each student a locker, which is impossible to use due to the congestion in the hall. She must carry everything with her throughout the entire day; her school supplies, lunch, coat, ect. Students on stairwells leap over the stairs to avoid the crowds, pushing and shoving everyday! The 2nd level the floor actually shakes while the students change classes. The walls are so thin plan on hearing everything the class next door. Just a bad, old, overcrowded situation all the way around! Not to mention there is no opportunity for the students to make a connection with their teachers, counselor, or administration. There are so many students, unless your student is a trouble you need to plan on just going with the flow. And there is no connection to their high school. They are not included in prep rallies, assemblies, or other events at the high school they will go to. My daughter is advanced classes and gets great grades. We have loved the elementary & middle school experience, but very disappointed in the "freshman" experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2012

Very overcrowded school makes getting from class to class very difficult it may be time for another building or expansion
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2012

As a current student, I'm finding the Freshman Center to be a very enjoyable and unique experience. The faculty here is willing to bend over backwards to help you succeed, and a good 95% of the teachers are absolutely wonderful. They use all the resources they have to make class enjoyable and definitely make class fun. All of the complaints about overcrowding are certainly not true. They're older, but there was a new addition a few years ago which gives an alternative pathway to classes, so it definitely lessens the crowding within the halls. My only complaint is about the janitorial staff. You never really see them anywhere outside of the cafeteria. So while the cafeteria looks amazing, the rest of the building gets dirty and is not very appealing. But other than that, it's really a great learning environment with many great teachers, administrators, and other activities. What a great school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2009

I'm currently going here. If you're having problems with overcrowding, there's something wrong with you. It's really not that bad at all, you really do get used to it. The teachers are great (mine, at least) and they do the best they can with their resources. It's annoying when a parent says that there aren't enough teachers for us all, it's just not true. There's plenty, a lot of my classes don't have the full amount of students! There's no issue with impersonal teaching, it's just a fact of life. If your kid can't deal with that, send them to a private school. No one I know has a problem with it. Certainly already the most memorable school year after only a few weeks.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2009

My child has really struggled in this particular school environment. Overcrowding in the halls between classes is overwhelming. Continuity of student teacher relationships either from middle school to freshman center or from freshman center to high school is largely missing--you will need to have a gameplan for helping your child deal with that. Great teachers at this school who seem to have a passion for this age group...but with so many kids, there is not much opportunity for developing closer relationships with teachers. If your kid is a 'just go with the flow' kind of person, he is likely to get lost in the shuffle at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

i love the freshman center with all the nice staff that works with you and a very good special edd progam
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2008

I am currently a student at the Blue Springs Freshman Center. To all you 8th graders coming in...don't be alarmed! It looks like a big school..but it is real simple. There are three floors, but there are so many ways to get to different classrooms. But take it from me if there is a less populated way you can get to the class...take it! I am late everyday to my second hour because people sit in the halls and talk! After about the first three weeks, you will know the whole school like the back of your hand. The teachers are very nice. Everyone tells you that it is going to get very difficult, and it will but if you have the teachers on your side, then the school year will be a breeze. Respect the teachers, and they will respect you. good luck!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 18, 2008

My son is currently a student at the freshman center. I think it is a good idea to segregate the freshman so that they can beome better acclimated to the 'high school' environment before being thrown to the wolves with many more students in a much bigger building. BSHS's campus is equivalent to the college I attended! It was overwhelming to me as a college student so its got to be mind boggling for these teenagers. I love the fact that the staff appears to be genuinely concerned about each student that is trying to apply themselves to getting an education. They will bend over backwards and extend every opportunity for the students to acheive. I am happy to be able to have my son attend school at the freshman center as well as being able to get an education in a top rated school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

I go to this school. It's really nice and the teachers are really kind and helpful. The hallways are a bit confusing at first (there are 3 floors) but after the first day, you can figure them out really easily. Also, the new addition is very nice!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 19, 2007

Many parents don't seem to care for the freshman center and I have a friend who's parent took her out of blue springs south and forced her to go to a private school in the lee's summit to avoid it. Her daughter will be going to south next school year, but taking your child out of a school for one year just so they won't have to be in the freshman center 'environment' must say something. I personally attended the freshman center last school year and thought it was a very nice school. The school could use some remodeling and touch ups but the teachers, students, and counselors are amazing. During my first semester there, they did add a new wing that looks very nice. This wing was equipped with many new classrooms and a new bathroom. Really gives kids an idea of what to expect next year. Loved it!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 9, 2007

I personally have had a great time at the Freshman Center. I love being with the whole community instead of being grouped into people that are going to South and people going to Blue Springs. I believe that if you want to get a good education from this school you can, as long as you are in class and paying attention. I have loved all my teachers but one or two. I think this school is so unique with the two high schools and it is a good experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 13, 2004

I have had 2 daughters go through this school and hate the thought of sending one more there. The school has two many kids in the hallways for the teachers to have control.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

499 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 54% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2013.

1099 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%
English II

The state average for English II was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 61% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%
Government

The state average for Government was 54% in 2013.

1086 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
63%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students73%
Black71%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White74%
Free or reduced-price lunch74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Students68%
Black43%
Asian/Pacific Islander73%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial60%
White72%
Free or reduced-price lunch51%
Students with disabilities18%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Students98%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White99%
Free or reduced-price lunch93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Government

All Students67%
Black47%
Asian/Pacific Islander73%
Hispanic65%
Multiracial59%
White71%
Free or reduced-price lunch49%
Students with disabilities24%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 75%
Black 14% 17%
Hispanic 5% 5%
Asian 2% 2%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2103 NW Vesper
Blue Springs, MO 64015
Phone: (816) 224-1325

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Blue Springs High School
Blue Springs, MO



Valley View High School
Blue Springs, MO




Tri-City Christian School
Independence, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT