Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sunny Vale Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 13, 2013

There is great balance with this school as far as academics, extra-curricular activities, sports, art, music and other programs (e.g. elective classes; play; foreign languages) goes. About all the teachers are experienced educators. My eight grader has only positive experience with the school and the teachers. They do really care-and you can tell the caring/empowering environment starts from the top-principal. School hours is perfect. Only observation as a parent is the admin. staff in the front office may need to be more organized/efficient.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2013

I love Sunny Vale This is my first year going but it is my favorite school of all time. One of my favorite classes is extended math. How ever I don't reccomend art to any 5th graders wasn't the best class. Every kid I reccomed should pick Forigeng Language because I learned a varitey of languages. Keep in mind the teachers will change but I should tell you that the thing that I really wanted to get Digital Keyboarding out of the way only because it is a requirement to take it in middle school.


Posted August 16, 2011

I go to this school now. This school is ok I wouldn't recommend it! They have some mean teachers but the rest is pretty good! The teachers and principals are sort of strict. -Student


Posted November 10, 2009

I go to this school now and I love it! If you send your child to this school they will have amazing teachers and also great classmates! Even if maybe the parents have to move cause of a new job, then students in that grade will walk the new student around the school on their first day. I should know I am one of the people who are lucky enough to see the new student and stay friends with them the rest of the year. Sunny Vale is a great school all the teachers are very caring and awesome to the students. This is the best school I have every been to in my life!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2009

My child has been here for the past 3 years and the administration is a joke. They let anything happen. The teachers seem nice and caring. They're willing to come in early for one on one teaching. But other than that, I would not recomend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2009

i attended this school in 7th grade and part of 8th grade year. the lunch is great. they have a snack bar. kind of pricey! the teachers are nice and caring.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2009

I have two daughter's who go to this school one in 8th and one in 6th. i love it! The staff is amazing, they will gladly come in early in the morning for one on one teaching. I have been very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2005

This is my daughter's first year at Middle School and so far we love it. She is involed in the gifted program, which is one of her favorite classes and teachers. She enjoys the variety in classes. The school has the ability to commuicate grades via email and input money into your students lunch account on-line.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2005

Recently my husband has been deployed to iraq. As soon as the teachers and counselors found out they called my son into the office and told him to remember there is always someone there to help or talk to him when needed. They are taking the extra help to see that he furthurs his education without any distractions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2005

Students who attend school here love most of the teachers. They make learning interesting, while not giving assignments that are too easy. Sunny Vale has many classes. Sixth-graders have six exploratory classes throughout their school year. Kids in seventh and eighth grade can choose between foreign language; family and consumer science; industrial technology; speech and drama; computers; orchestra (which, by the way is excellent,with a wider variety of music than other musical classes); band; and vocal music as explo classes. The four main core classes are Math/Pre-Algrebra/Algebra; Language Arts; Social Studies/Ancient History; and Science...as well as Academic Skills, a special class that teaches various topics and skills that help with the end-of-the-year MAP Test. There are many after school activities, including an annual school musical with a nice stage with cutains and backstage area. There are also contests and other opportunities. Athletics include track, cross-country, basketball, volleyball, football.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 52% in 2013.

256 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

256 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 55% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 55% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students56%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White59%
Free or reduced-price lunch39%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students64%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White64%
Free or reduced-price lunch52%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students53%
Black41%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White57%
Free or reduced-price lunch53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students64%
Black49%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White68%
Free or reduced-price lunch64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students69%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White71%
Free or reduced-price lunch51%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students52%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White52%
Free or reduced-price lunch45%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students63%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Free or reduced-price lunch51%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students98%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 74%
Black 16% 17%
Hispanic 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3930 South R D Mize Rd
Blue Springs, MO 64015
Phone: (816) 224-1330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Marillac
Blue Springs, MO



Tri-City Christian School
Independence, MO


St John Lalande School
Blue Springs, MO


Timothy Lutheran School
Blue Springs, MO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT