Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Butler Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 622 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 8, 2014

I have two children in the elementary school and have been pleased with each teacher they have had. One child has special needs and the evaluation process was thorough and knowledgeable. I believe the administration and staff are knowledgeable, approachable and considerate. I find it disheartening that often times it is the people with complaints that voice their opinion the loudest. I want to take this opportunity to express my kudos.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

I'm satisfied with the overall education that my child is receiving, although he has only attended one year at Butler Elementary. I am absolutely dissatisfied with the ability to communicate with anyone at the school. There have been NUMEROUS times that I called the office in the morning to tell them my son has a doctor appt at ____ time and I will be there to get him at _____ time. Once I arrived my child was not ready, had to be located, etc. Despite being there to get him 30min prior to appt time he has been late many times due to a LONG wait in the office while they located my child. Another time they placed my child in with the walking home group upon dismissal even though he was listed as a parent pickup. My child was then lost for 45min and we had to drive around to find him. Luckily he found his way back near the school and we found him walking. One of the women in the office staff is VERY rude on a consistent basis should you call the school for any reason. The education is fine, but the staff have issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2011

I have 2 kids in Butler elem. school & 1 more about to start pre-k. I like the way the teachers spend 1 on 1 time with my kids. I love that there is 2 teachers in the classrooms with my kids. I see their teachers out & about in town & they are very friendly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

It appears to me that this school is overall ill-equipt to handle the needs of both its special needs and gifted students...while they seem to do pretty well with the average kids. I have been VERY unhappy with some teachers and impressed with others. I am looking to move to a new school district as we speak Parent of both special needs and gifted students of Butler Elementary
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

This school has got to be the worst out of all schools that my son has been in for Special needs for an Autistic child. They do not want to help him matter of fact they are totally going against his IEP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2006

I must agree with the person that has a special needs child who isn't getting what they need. We have since pulled our child out and sent her to a private school in Kansas City. I have a lot of respect for the teachers in the Early Childhood Dept, but none for the administration. Just a little FYI for anyone thinking of enrolling a special needs child, especially with speech problems, think twice. I however have no problems with my other kids who are 'mainstream'. I think the District is great for them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2006

My son is in special speach and reading programs furnished by the school. The school has helped him a lot this year. He now will pick up a book and read it for fun and it used to be a fight to get him to pick up a book. He tells me everyday that he loves his school and his teacher is very nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2006

I have been very happy w/the school. My son loves to go to school and he loves his teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2006

I have been a substitute for 8 years at various schools. (This happens to be a great way to check on schools and how they compare to each other). Butler rates pretty high compared to other schools. This is due to many factors that some parents may not agree with, such as caring teachers. Most teachers in this school are caring, though a couple may be here for the paycheck. One big reason they rate as high as they do is because of the parent support. You don't see a lot of parents coming in complaining. They're usually here seeing what they can do to help! This in turn helps the children to see that parents and teachers are a team. Parents need to understand that complaining is venting and that most children don't want their parents to act on it. I have 2 Butler graduates, who are very successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2005

I have to disagree with the previous review, my child has had a speech problem for over three years and the speech department and his teachers have gone out of their way to teach him. I am very pleased with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2005

One thing is for sure if you have a child with special needs this is not the right place for them, it seems they only want students who can pretty much do everything 'all the other students' do. They just dont seem to want to put up with special needs children and seems as if they pick on them:( There are a few teachers i like but other than that i am not satisfied at all and i plan to take my children out as soon as possible!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 52% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students31%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White32%
Free or reduced-price lunch25%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students40%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White42%
Free or reduced-price lunch33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students41%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White44%
Free or reduced-price lunch37%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students53%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White55%
Free or reduced-price lunch48%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students49%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White49%
Free or reduced-price lunch46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students41%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White42%
Free or reduced-price lunch33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students53%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White52%
Free or reduced-price lunch41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students49%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White52%
Free or reduced-price lunch41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students46%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White47%
Free or reduced-price lunch41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 74%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Black 2% 17%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Elaine Morris
Fax number
  • (660) 679-6593

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4 North High St
Butler, MO 64730
Phone: (660) 679-6591

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT