Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Cape Girardeau, MO
Students enrolled: 1,193

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Central High School 5

Posted March 13, 2013
- a community member
I am a recent graduate of Cape Central and have been very pleased with the school in general. Although it does not have the best reputation, I received a very positive experience here. Aside from a very wide course selection, they have a multitude of different sports and extra curricular activities available to students. The school is very diverse, and is very accepting of all walks of life. It is an accredited institution that boasts a very new and modern facility. Cape Girardeau is very fortunate to have a public school like this--keep up the good work!!!

Central High School 1

Posted March 31, 2011
- a parent
this school lies wont tell the truth trys to cover up anything they can to not get in trouble.thye dont follow there policy and are disrespectful to students to not let them hsvr the right for students to see the camera when rights or goods are stolen.


Central High School 1

Posted November 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Central High School 0
no rating

Posted September 14, 2009
- a parent
The words 'arrogant administration' come up quite frequently when speaking with others about this school. If you have a child who fits the cookie-cutter mold category, you will probably be fine. Otherwise, you have very little chance of your child succeeding in this school. Parents, check the dropout rate before pursuing this school, (way too high), and then question 'why?'

Central High School 5

Posted February 27, 2009
- a parent
CHS does a great job of offering curriculum to meet the needs of all levels of student ability. Their extra-curriculars are wonderful. I have one graduate from thier who was able to earn a full tuition scholarship from a private college, based on what Central taught her in terms of academics, leadership, and personal ethics. My other 2 kids are doing just as well.


Central High School 0
no rating

Posted February 01, 2009
- a student
I attended CHS and this school has helped me to be in the top ten percent of my class. Dr. Mike Cowan is the best principal any school can have. Dr. Cowan is what every school needs. So many sports, clubs, and college credit classes are offered. I highly recommend Cape Central High School for any student.

Central High School 5

Posted August 28, 2008
- a parent
My daughter is doing very well in college after spending four years at Central. The teachers will go way out of their way to help any student who cares and is trying. The range of classes offered is from basic to very advanced - every student can match their abilities and move ahead. There are so many extracurricular activities that it's a hard choice every semester. And the principal, Mr. Cowan, is just an amazing man. He's pure enthusiasm and warmth combined with quick, firm, fair discipline: manages to be almost everywhere all the time, solving problems, encouraging, extending a hand to those who need it, being a superb cheerleader for the efforts and successes of all his students. A fine public high school!!

Central High School 2

Posted August 25, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Central High School 5

Posted February 15, 2008
- a parent
I have 2 kids that graduated from Cape Central and they are doing wonderful. I have had a great experience with the teachers and staff.

Central High School 1

Posted November 19, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Central High School
1000 South Silver Springs Rd, Cape Girardeau, MO  63703
(573) 335-8228
Last modified Central High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Central High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top