Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carl Junction Junior High School

Public | 7-8 | 526 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2009

Cj is overall a pretty good school. As a student I always feel safe. Bullying can occour at our school but that happens at any other school too. Our discipline can be a little odd but, the principals always do their best to try to find a reasonable punishment. The other stundent at CJ can be really judgemental and some teachers do tend to choose favorites. The prep and jocks usually get favored over the students like me who are gothic or emo. Its really unfair for us to get treated differrently even though we usually do make better grades than alot of tghe students. Everybody's different in their own way but if you walk or talk differently you will most likely get made fun of. I walk different than most people and I was and still am getting made fun of but my teachers always stand up for me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2007

CJ is a ok school overall. Our discipline system is a little odd at times, but tends to be fair in the long run. Our principle, Mrs. Elbrader, is totally over-emotional, but treats us like her own kids. Mr. Sawyer, the vice principle, is humorus but sometimes makes jokes at the wrong time, but i guess it's better than a basic boot-camp VP. Alot of parents tend to think that a lot of bullying happens, but that's far from true. But the 'bullies' so to speak always get what's coming to them. I've never seen anyone get away with bullying another person.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2005

Carl Junction schools are awesome, the statistics don't lie! The enrollment continutes to climb. People with children in search of new residences choose Carl Junction time and time again. I believe that is due to the A+ school system. I would not send my child anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2005

The only thing this school cares about is sports. They do not have the time to help the children after or before school. The school is far from accessible to chldren or adults with any kind of physical or mental disibility. The school allows bulling to go on, if the person doing the bully is a jock (plays sports). They will take the jock to the office and say do not do it again. I live in the district and will say if you have a perfect child who plays sports this is the school for you. How many children are really perfect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

This school is the best system I have ever seen. I have four kids currently enrolled in CJ district, and I have worked in the Jr High. Mr Stevens is an out of this world principal, and while I know we will benefit greatly with him moving up to central office, I will at the same time be sad he won't be at Jr high when my kids get there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2005

I totally disagree with the post made in December '04, just because Mrs. Nac talks about Jesus sometimes, dosn't mean that we are a religious based school system! And Mr. Stevens ROCKS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 31, 2004

I despise the administration at this school. They have a religious agenda that does NOT belong in a public school and at times I wonder if I'm in church or at a school meeting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2004

this school is 'the' best school in the whole entire state I'm glad my kids will be going there eventually. -steffani D. sanchez age 14
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 14, 2004

Best school ever! I very very very highly recommend this school to anyone who wants to go here! This is the best school in the 4 states!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 55% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 55% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

244 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students59%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White60%
Free or reduced-price lunch48%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students60%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White62%
Free or reduced-price lunch47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students58%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White56%
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students50%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White51%
Free or reduced-price lunch31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students67%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White66%
Free or reduced-price lunch52%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 75%
Black 2% 17%
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

306 Keeney St
Carl Junction, MO 64834
Phone: (417) 649-7246

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Carl Junction Satellite
Carl Junction, MO






Gateway School
Joplin, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT