Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

West County Christian School

Private | K-8 | 67 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2010

We wholeheartedly agree with the comment just below ours. Jesus taught love, mercy and compassion. At WCCS you rarely see these traits in the teachers, let alone the principal. The environment is very depressing if you just scratch the surface of the problems at this school. Low enrollment and retention of students tells it all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

I have sent 4 children through WCCS and I have to say that our children have received not only a solid and top notch education, but a wonderful, nurturing and God centered atmosphere. The school is blessed with a stable set of teachers who have been with the school for many years. This is a parent run school and thus it is not influenced by an outside board. WCCS truly is the 'best kept secret in West County'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

As a seasoned teacher, having taught in public and more than one private school, I can say without a doubt- WCCS is the best! It does not only have the highest level of academic standards, it is a place where the students are truly loved and love one another. A great school does not happen all byt itself. It takes a team of people working together being led by great leaders. WCCS has that! (A Super Secretary too!!)
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 22, 2008

My child has attended WCCS since Kindergarten. We are very pleased with the high level of academics. It is truely a hidden jewel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

My child loves this school and looks forward to attending every day. From the principle, to the teachers, and the students, West County Christian School has created an environment where education and Christian values are the priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2008

West County Christian School has been a blessing to my child and to our family. The teachers, principal and board of directors exemplify Gods love to the children. My Child has exelled beyond belief in the loving and nurturing enviroment. I highly recommend the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

Our family has been a part of West County Christian School for 12 years now. Since my oldest was in Kindergarten we have been cared for and loved like family. This is not only a school of excelling education but of spiritual nurturing. My oldest 2 are now in high school and soaring academically in all their classes. Their is not another school that could hold a candle to West County Christian.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

This school is awesome. Over the past 12 years, I had 2 children graduate from here. My third child graduates this year. The education was outstanding and they were well prepared for high school and college. WCCS teaches academics from a Biblical world view. The Word of God is woven in everything. The teachers are Godly and love the students. They prayed daily for the students. The small class sizes really helped my children to learn. The deep spiritual truths taught at WCCS gave my children the confidence to articulate and defend their Christian beliefs in public high school. The teachers and staff partnered with me in my quest to have my children walk deeper with the Lord. My wife and I are extremely satisfied with the school and staff. Our family has made life-long friends through WCCS. WCCS has made an eternal difference in my children s lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2008

Proverbs 22:6 says: Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it. West County Christian School does just that. As the spouse of a WCCS teacher I ve seen the results. Students who came to the school academically challenged become academically advanced, disciplined, and wise godly young men and women learning the truth! Public schools suffer from sexuality, violence, and dumbing down of our youth. West County Christian School shines like a beacon of light in the darkness. Their motto is We Teach Hearts and Minds and it s so true, they do a wonderful job with these students! There are standards, discipline and homework and anyone with wisdom would have it no other way! WCCS shouldn t be the best kept secret in St Louis, we should shout from the roof tops so those who have school aged children might know!


Posted November 8, 2007

- This school lacks appropriate leadership. - This school does not apply Biblical principals in an appropriate way for children. - There is a very oppressive atmosphere at WCCS. - We have tried to work with the administration and found the principal to be very argumentative and not an appropriate example of Christian behavior to parents or students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2007

We love WCCS for our daughter! She is 1-2 years ahead of her public school friends in every subject! We also love WCCS's small class sizes and loving, dedicated teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

We are very pleased with WCCS. We moved our (then) 5th and 3rd graders here because we wanted a Christian school with strong academics that would give a more reasonable amount of homework than where we had been. We found that and more. The homework load is generally reasonable, the teachers are caring and model Christian character, and the parents are generally involved. We also found the academic level to be at least as strong, and in many cases stronger, than the prior private Christian school we came from. Finally, the school is conveniently located and tuition is reasonable relative to its peers. We are pleased to send our kids to WCCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 77%
Black 16% 17%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School end time
  • 3:00 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Janet Gregory
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (314) 579-0500

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

P.O. Box 6670
Chesterfield, MO 63006
Website: Click here
Phone: (314) 579-9610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ascension School
Chesterfield, MO


Westwood Junior Academy
Chesterfield, MO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT