Advertisement
Advertisement

Barat Academy

Private | 9-12 | 170 students

We are a Co-ed school but educate the genders separately.

 

Living in Chesterfield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $468,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 6, 2014

LIke most new schools, Barat has struggled financially and that carries over into many things they try to do. They have some very good teachers but also some that fall short of expectations. The school has continued to improve but still has a ways to go to compoete with the larger, much older Catholic schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

This is a joke - I am so sorry I bought into the sales pitch. My child was absolutely miserable. Very small group of kids, most with academic issues. It was not founded or run by any Catholic order, nor is it an archdiocesan school. It does not adequately teach Catholicism. When my child left and went to a Catholic high school, life was so much better! Don't be fooled by the sales pitch - this place is awful. For every negative comment on here, the admissions person counters with a bogus positive review that reads like an add. There is a reason the classes are so small - most kids have already heard about this place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2013

Barat Academy is like no other in St. Louis. I am a product of St. Louis Catholic education and I explored all the "traditional" options for my daughter. Barat was the perfect fit. It is the only girl's school that has a band. It has a wonder theater program. But she also has become involved in sports which we never thought would happen. The service to the community is like no other in St. Louis. All four years service is experienced...not just senior year. Come see this great school for your son or daughter!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2013

I can't say enough great things aobut this school! My son loves it. I couldn't have asked for a better highschool experience for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

This is a good place if your child has a difficult time fitting in with a large group of kids. Most of the kids have a little academic or social awkwardness. We wanted a private school for our daughter and found most of them here to be very challenging, Barat was a good fit for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2012

Wonderful school. One graduated, two there now. A great school is a reflection of it's leadership. I doubt there is one better than Ms Watson. There is more to life than Friday night football. As fun as that is, this school is about academics and building character.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2012

What a mess. The teachers are mostly part time, the language classes are Rosetta Stone and the rest of the classes lean heavily on a home schooling program. For the amount of money wanted for tuition I really expected them to live up to their ads! I also thought this was going to be a Sacred Heart School - but it is not run by any Catholic organization.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2011

This school is top notch and so are the students and teachers. My daughter is challenged academically and has flourished both spiritually and personally. Their AP program is wonderful and their service learning is like no other. Barat Academy is an excellent school for those students looking to be challenged. At Barat my daughter is not another face in the crowd but someone who is cherished for all she can bring to the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

Wow, what a mess! My daughter lasted one year before begging us to take her out of this school. Apparently not drinking is a major social issue. We have found another private school that offers so much more in the line of academics and activities. We are very grateful the St. Louis area offers so many education options. Finding a better school was easy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2011

We couldn't have chosen a better school for our daughter. Single gender classes with low student-teacher ratios have allowed her to do well academically. The focus on values and service has also prepared her to go out in the world to be the change she wants to see. That is invaluable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

The school culture is not one based on Christian values. The academic programs do not offer much for students wanting to prepare for a good college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Wow, what an experience! My son left another local private high school because we were unsatisfied with the quality of education. He has found a true home at Barat. Every room is flush with technology. Teachers develop course curriculum independently from the traditional read from the text style of courses at his old high school. He enjoys playing Football and Basketball at Barat and has made some friends that I am sure will be life-long. Most importantly, I can tell how much the Barat staff cares from my son and his success. I did not get this same feeling at his old high school because some of his favorite teachers left or were cut. Barat is an amazing place for children to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

I have a family member who goes to this school and they truly love this school. Just hearing how much she loves it and the fact that it is a coed campus with single gender classes. I think that creates an atmosphere that allows kids to really focus on learning and not the opposite sex.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 77%
Black 10% 17%
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 4%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 3% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 97% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 0% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 0% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 0% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation State Universities
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: German

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:55 am
School end time
  • 3:05 pm
School Leader's name
  • Debby Watson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • website
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Fax number
  • (636) 300-5501

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of St. Louis
  • Independent Schools of St. Louis
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Dance
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Christmas Club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Foreign language club: German
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
40
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
50

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$0 - $14000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Northwestern
United States Naval Academy
State Universities
College preparation / awareness offered
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
SAT/ACT prep classes
College presentations or information sessions
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 3%
4 year college - 97%
Military - 0%
Vocational - 0%
Workforce - 0%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17815 Wild Horse Creek Road
Chesterfield, MO 63005
Website: Click here
Phone: (636) 300-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Babler Lodge
Chesterfield, MO







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT