Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
170 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Barat Academy 1

Posted October 11, 2015
- a student
I am truly at a loss as to how this school is rated as anything but terrible. We were additionally stunned after our child transferred out and was so far behind academically. There is nothing good I can say about this place.

Barat Academy
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted October 11, 2015
- a student
Only in the respect that if you are trying to learn at a higher level, you will go to other sources to supplement your education.


Barat Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 11, 2015
- a student
There are favorites with the administration who get treated better than the rest. It was very disheartening to see some kids work so hard and do great work to be placed in the shadow of a Debbie favorite.

Barat Academy 5

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has been in private school all her life. Last year she attended a big Catholic school in St. Charles county and it was such a disappointment! We were extremely unhappy with the education and the lack of involvement, care from the teachers, this was the first time we moved schools because we were unhappy. We were considering online school but a month before school started we toured Barat and it was the best decision we ever made. What a difference! my daughter was not just one more of the hundreds at the other school, the staff at Barat was actually interested in meeting her as ain individual! The academics are excellent, the staff is top notch, the teachers truly care and are available to help before, after or during school. Barat is better than we expected, It's comparable to the super expensive school my kids attended in Singapore (which costs double) We are so impressed by Barat!, they go above and beyond to help the students. Going to Barat has been the best decision we have made for our daughter's education. She thrives in the small classes and is learning so much from her teachers, she is actually thinking and analyzing things not just memorizing stuff like at the old school. Her teachers care about her> I feel like we are getting way more than we are paying for. Barat is worth every penny! This is a school to consider if you want your child to succeed.

Barat Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
Debbie Watson, Michael Brennan, TJ Keelye, Dr. Ruscillo, Mrs. Henning are always willing to help students.


Barat Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are brilliant and love what they do. They have some of the most talented and dedicated people I have met.

Barat Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
Children are taught values by doing Service learning (volunteering) the staff truly cares about the kids.

Barat Academy 5

Posted July 24, 2015
- a parent
We have one student currently at Barat and one that has graduated who are very different from each other yet have excelled in so many areas because of what Barat offers. This is truly an amazing school. I am a former teacher and so I feel I can look at Barat from a professional standpoint and also as a parent. Not only have our kids received an excellent education, they have also been fortunate with the many opportunities Barat provides. Our boys have been able to play numerous sports and have an opportunity to grow rather than just sit the bench. Our son that just graduated never played an instrument or read one note of music until he came to Barat but has since made the All-District Choir, learned to play trombone and received a music scholarship for college. We love Barat's educational model and that they work individually with those students who need it, but that they keep their standards of excellence high, as it should be. The Service Learning experience is so beneficial in teaching the students that the world is not just about them but about what they have to offer to those around them from improving local parks, to working with children or Alzheimer's patients, to their Peace Project as a Senior. I was blown away by the level of professionalism and work that goes into these projects and how much of an impact that they can have even as young adults. Barat is a hidden gem that I wish more people knew about. It is a great "college building resume" school as it affords students the opportunity to be a part of so many different things. I know our boys wouldn't want to be anywhere else. That's a great feeling as a parent.


Barat Academy 5

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
I have to say after reading these reviews, we ALMOST did not send our daughter here. WOW...what a mistake that would have been. I honestly have NO idea why there are ANY bad reviews on this school. We have 3 children and have been enrolled in 6 different private schools and have toured at least 6 or 7 more. This school is by FAR...the very best!!! The administration is outstanding!!! You will love Mr. Brennan...care, understanding, truly wants you to achieve your best. This school has welcomed use with open arms and has really exceeded our expectations. My daughter transferred here as a senior and the transition has been very smooth. The students are really just nice, down to earth kids. Great job Barat!!!!...thoroughly impressed!!!

Barat Academy 1

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
We had such hope for this school and we were disappointed! This school lacks Catholic formation and teaches more about other faiths. Social atmosphere is poison! There are so many great Catholic schools in the St Louis area that we are truly surprised this one is still open.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Barat Academy
17815 Wild Horse Creek Road, Chesterfield, MO  63005
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (636) 300-5500
Last modified Barat Academy is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top