Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wydown Middle School 5

Posted February 02, 2015
- a parent
Excellent faculty & staff! The school offers ample opportunities for kids that are looking for a challenge. The school is not only focused on educating the kids in academics but also strives to develop their personalities. I foresee the kids coming from Wydown Middle school to be well rounded individuals that are prepared for High School and ultimately will become good citizens of society.

Wydown Middle School 1

Posted September 20, 2011
- a parent
Quite disappointed in the school. Lack of challenge at all levels, poor communication, no flexibility shown to do the right things for their students. Problems start with the Principal and work their way down to all levels.


Wydown Middle School 5

Posted January 10, 2010
- a student
I really love my school, there are programs, like math extensions and exploratorium, made for students who are ahead of their class, and there are programs for reading, writing, math, and after school programs made for students that need extra help with academics. The band, ochestra, chous, and jazz band are all wonderful! There's even an honors orchestra for advanced strings players. The elective program is awesome! There are so many choices, I can't even list them all. There are different computer, art, music, drama, engineering, animation, and many other electives, all of which are choices for every student. The kids here are all very different from eachother, everyone who comes here makes friends imediately. The teachers and principals are great, they all would do most anything for the good of the students, and the counselors are really easy to talk to. This is the best school to send your kids.

Wydown Middle School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
They do everything for the kids first. Middle School is a tough age but the faculty, administration and staff are devoted, smart and caring. I love Peace Day - with paper cranes, hundreds of colored pinwheels in front of the school singing out for peace... and Ben and Jerry's ice cream!

Wydown Middle School 5

Posted January 14, 2009
- a parent
I have three children who have attended Wydown. We have a range of talent in our family - some of our children are in accelerated (gifted) programs and some receive assistance from the Special School District. In every case, the staff, teachers and principal have been outstanding. These comments are based upon 5 years of experience in the Clayton School District. Our expectations and standards are high, as our our children attended private schools the previous five years.


Wydown Middle School
no rating

Posted December 05, 2008
- a parent
Our family loves the clayton school district. Both my children are bused to the school. They enjoy all the after school activites that are available. I rate the school a 5. The teachers are wonderful and always willing to assist the students when asked.

Wydown Middle School 1

Posted September 25, 2008
- a parent
Very week school. Teachers are too worrried about keeping all the kids that are bused in up 'to Par'. No focus on the gifted child. Teachers are not dedicated to the students. No after school hours or extended effort. Principal will not make changes!

Wydown Middle School 5

Posted August 22, 2006
- a parent
We love all Clayton schools. We came USA last year and my daughter would start 6th grade after elementary school. It was the hard time for her. She was very anxious and she was not sure about her English level. She was always first rank in our country and she was afraid not to be successful as before. But after 3 weeks summer program she was very confident. She adapted easily with all teachers' helps. Academic program very dense but they have PE class every day for relaxing. She was very happy here. All teachers are very friendly . I have never seen any teacher with frown eyebrows. They make it happen program that all students like it. Mrs. Goldberg saying GOOD MORNING with her smiling face is in front door everyday. What a good beginning for a school day. Coordination with parent are wonderful in their adolescent period.


Wydown Middle School 5

Posted March 20, 2005
- a student
This school has phenomenal academic programs that ask a lot of your child especially for a public school. They offer chorus, band, orchestra, visual arts, fiber arts, computer arts and photography, basketball, football, crosscountry, track, lacrosse, and more. There are many parents involved in the school. Some of the parents are on the school board, teach at the school and are just really involved in doing extra things like the poetry slam, the fall play, the spring musical, the talent show, and the PTA. It's a great school with a lot to offer so check it out.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wydown Middle School
6500 Wydown, Clayton, MO  63105
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (314) 854-6400
Last modified Wydown Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top