Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Clever, MO
Students enrolled: 237
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Clever Middle School 1

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
I grew up here and always wanted my children to go here, BIG MISTAKE! Horrible teachers, the kids are mow "teaching" themselves in math! Are you kidding me! The judge mental teachers, talking behind kids and parents just sickens me! If you like drama and kiss teachers and coaches hind-end then this is the school for you, it's not for me and my children any longer! #houseforsale

Clever Middle School 1

Posted February 11, 2014
- a parent
This school is awful. The faculty and administration are bigger bullies than the students. There are no books. No homework. No learning. The teachers humiliate and ostracize their students. The disciplinary protocol and curriculum is a joke. We moved here in 2008 and it was the worst mistake i could have ever made for my children. If children are unhappy at school, they do not learn.
1 person found this helpful


Clever Middle School 3

Posted August 20, 2013
- a community member
They change some type of system every year. An example would be this year they changed the grading system. Instead of keeping it the same A, B, C, D, F system it's 4, 3, 2, 1. What's the point in that? They say its for the greater good of the students but changing every little thing confuses them more than helps them. Some really great teachers though. Some.
1 person found this helpful

Clever Middle School 2

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
The saving grace of this school is Benjy Fenske, it's principal. I have never met a more caring, dedicated professional. However, I have major concerns. My daughter attends 8th grade, middle school. This is a great school for people who want to be involved in their child's education as little as possible. The kids are not allowed to take books home, so I have no clue what is being taught. There is no homework, and they have even found a way to get the teachers out of conferences! It's called "student-led" conferences. Basically, it's an open house, where the students show the parents a collection of their work. This is supposed to build self-esteem. In my opinion, this is bunk. If you want to actually speak to a teacher, you have to make an appointment with each one. We'll be leaving this district asap.
1 person found this helpful

Clever Middle School 5

Posted May 02, 2008
- a student
This school has to be the best school that I have ever went to.


Clever Middle School 3

Posted October 19, 2006
- a parent
Clever R5 has a strong academic program however I disagree with their 'Strike Policy'. They don't offer much for sports.

Clever Middle School 4

Posted July 13, 2004
- a parent
This school is in the process of buliding a new Elementary, but the first Elementary isn't that old. The middle school is the one which needs improvment. The 5th grade lockers are pretty new but the 6th,7th, and 8th grade locker don't shut all the way because they are so old. It has a big ant problem which none of the other schools have and some of the classroom doors need to be repared as well as all of the bathroom's in this school. The doors in the bathrooms don't have a lock on them and some don't shut all the way. One has a hole in it which is upstairs. Also in this school the teachers really need to help the kids with learning problems like ADHD. They give up really easy. They label them as bad kids but their not they just need a little more help.

Clever Middle School 2

Posted March 23, 2004
- a parent
The Administration in this school lacks in the ability in communicating to the parents. Unless, it's something they want. If a parent tries to become involved, they are labeled a troublemaker. And from then on, their child is marked. There is to much partialism being shown in some of the students. Overall, the teachers are astounding. The 7th & 8th Grade Math teacher, is wonderful in particular. As well as the English Teacher. The most important thing, is this school needs to figure out a way to get parents more involved in the childrens education.


Clever Middle School 2

Posted March 22, 2004
- a parent
This school could be an outstanding academically school. There is too much favorism being shown towards the school board members children and the teacher's, faculty and staff's children. This needs to be re-evaluated. The Accelerated Reading Program is a Farce. My child will not pick up a book now to read for nothing. If your child does not exceed or isn't Special Education, this school is not for your children. The School Board Members need to learn that it's ok to disagree with what the Superintendent wants. Or to think it should be done another way. This school needs to utilize their budget more properly. Spending money on 'PIZZA Parties' and then cutting cooks wages, that really sounds logical to me!!

Clever Middle School 2

Posted March 21, 2004
- a student
Don't let high test scores fool you. If your child keeps up, plays sports, is an outstanding student, things are great. If you have a middle of the class child, don't expect much. If you have a child that is 'below average', forget it. The school board listens to the principals and the principals report to the superintendant. Don't try to help out in any way unless asked - you won't be wanted. Don't question the 'authority' of the principal - your child will suffer indirectly. This school needs an overhaul of the worst kind.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Clever Middle School
401 West Inman Rd, Clever, MO  65631
(417) 743-4820
Last modified Clever Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8
Clever Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top