Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mary Paxton Keeley Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 7, 2014

This is a wonderful school with amazing teachers. We've had nothing but the best experience with our kids the last two years there. The school earned 100% on its performance report (better than Mill Creek), and my kids have made great strides in their learning every year. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

I am a Paxton Keeley parent who has had a child there all the way through (is now in 5 th grade). I've been very satisfied with the teachers, principal, and administrative staff. Only once have I had an issue, and the principal addressed my concerns promptly and satisfactorily. The negative comments here make me think that some people believe school is a paradise where every kid gets to do his or her own thing, and that a teacher or principal is bad for expecting reasonable compliance from students. In 6 years affiliation with this school, I have never seen a teacher behave inappropriately or place unreasonable demands on a student; I have seen them be extremely patient with the few students whose behavior puts them at odds with the rest of their classroom. This is a great school and I recommend it enthusiastically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2011

This school is too political. You have to know someone on the inside for your child to have a good experiance. They promote a healthy lifestyle too much to the point of obsession. Instead on a indoor recess the kids are forced to walk around the school halls in a cirlcle, and they cannot talk. Missouri gets very cold in the winter, and the kids are forced to go outside unless it is under 10 degrees, they say freezing but it has been 15 degrees outside and they force the children outside. And when the children try to huddle close to the building to keep warm and out of the wind they teachers shoo them away towards the cold. The principle is very cold and very controlling. I had wished i had gone to a different school. I am a former student that went through K-5 of the school and had a unsatisfactory experience. Some teachers are good, but its luck if you get the good ones.


Posted September 28, 2010

This school is great.... for girls. It is NOT a great school for boys, my son when there for 2 years and he was constantly in trouble. Was left supervised by a janitor on 2 occasions. Kids have to sit a certain way on the carpet and push in chairs a certain way. If your kid can sit still for 7 hours. Then Great! Also what a previous parent said about the admin not liking you questioning their authority is very true. We attended 2 years then transferred we've had 0 problems with our new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2009

i live this school the teachers are great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

When we dared to question the teachers & schools', we were treated like villains who 'offended' the teachers. The school's image is definitely more important than the students themselves. We're disgusted that only 1 of 5 teachers proved to be emotionally mature and sane enough to handle parents who questioned them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2006

I went to this school for 4 years and enjoyed each and every year. The teachers are great! They care about every child's success. The music and art programs are outstanding! Ms. Luetjen does a superior job teaching music, and Ms. Stoddart is a wonderful art teacher. The school has 2 recesses per day that let kids unwind. The D.A.R.E program in fifth grade teaches students about drug awareness and protection. The security of this school is also excellent. I would recommend Mary Paxton Keeley to everyone.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 1, 2006

I have been a Paxton Keeley parent for 5 years. I have been very impressed with the quality of the staff. My children have gotten the best education and are very successful students. The administration is wonderful with communicating their expectations of all the students. The art teacher is fabulous. The music teacher is outstanding and was just rewarded an award for outstanding teaching in the State of Missouri. Paxton Keeley also offers many extracurricular activities such as science club, technology club, honors choir, orchestra and also a culture club. The parents at Paxton Keeley make this the best school to attend. The parents are very involved in every expect of the school, the PTA is very active. I feel as though this is the best school in the district and would never send my children to any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2006

I am quite concerned with the emotional safety of my child at this school. It seems that issues that the children feel necessary to adress to the teachers or staff is consistently handled in a fashion that displays to the child that their concerns are not important. My child has complained about teasing numerously and it is not being handled apropriately. I agree with the first comment on the academic programs that they seem only for the average intellect and seem to only be concerned with their look more than the child. It has a basic music class but no instrumental classes such as band or orchestra. It has basic art and physical education. The first two years that my child attended I felt a strong 2 way line of communication, however, the following two years I have needed to consistently remind the teacher to communicate effectively and consistently with me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

I believe Paxton Keeley strives to help each and every child reach their full potential. The academic programs are very successful. I am impressed with the professionalism exhibited by the administration, the staff and the faculty. The art and music teachers are incredible! Many of the teachers have been recognized locally and nationally for their abilities. Parents are very involved and are an integral part of this learning environment. Kudos to this elementry school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

Paxton Keeley is a school which seeks out the best in their students and teachers. I have been a parent of Paxton for three years, with a second child entering in the fall. I am always impressed by the dedication of the staff and administration on many levels. The lines of communication are always open between parents and staff. The administration exemplifies strong leadership and has high expectations for achieving and discipline. I am proud to be a parent of Paxton Keeley and feel blessed that my children have such amazing, caring teachers. When we moved back to the area, I specifically wanted to be in the Paxton boundary because of the wonderful, dedicated teachers. Children may do extra curricular activities provided by the staff in the winter months. The music, art and PE programs are excellent. Parent involvement is commendable. 5 stars for Paxton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2005

I feel that the academic programs are wonderful as long as your child is of average intellegence. I feel that other children are isolated and are not encouraged to succeed in their own abilities, but rather they are encouraged to be average. I also feel that they are working so hard at developing a great image since they are a new school that they forget about the children. They have great features that they promote highly but forget about children. They do have music, art, and p.e., and that is nice. These extra classes are not bad but they seem to lack special quality. They promote positive discipline, however, I don't feel that subtracting recess for tardies is positive (when did children start driving themselves to school?). Lastly, there have been many instances where they ask 'are you her mother' and then don't check identification and let them leave with you.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students68%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White71%
Free or reduced-price lunch52%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students54%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White53%
Free or reduced-price lunch38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students71%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students65%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students79%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White81%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students86%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White86%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students78%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White83%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 74%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 2%
Black 8% 17%
Hispanic 8% 5%
Two or more races 6% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Richard Clark Partnership Award (2007)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:50 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:45 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Elaine Hassemer
Fax number
  • (573) 214-3571

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • We have 100% attendance at our parent-teacher conferences. the majority of our parents join pta.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Smithton Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

201 Park Deville
Columbia, MO 65203
Website: Click here
Phone: (573) 214-3570

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT