Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jefferson Jr. High School 5

Posted February 28, 2013
- a parent
I have transferred my student from a private school to this one as it provided more opportunities and level of expectation than the private school. The Honors classes were very challenging and pushed my daughter to work hard. I see her maturity level and work ethic changing rapidly. The teachers are incredibly friendly and always willing to provide extra help. There are discipline problems, but what public school dosen't have them? My daughter never witnessed any of these serious problems throughout the year. Great school with an amazing staff!

Jefferson Jr. High School 4

Posted April 07, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Jefferson Jr. High School 5

Posted November 10, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Jefferson Jr. High School 0
no rating

Posted July 22, 2008
- a parent
I took my son out of a Catholic School environment to go to Jeff Jr. He was far more challenged at Jeff Jr. as a public school academically than he was at the Catholic School. He took Honors classes in the 8th grade, which he was unable to do at the other school. The class size was a bit larger, but any time he needed any help in any subject, all he had to do was talk with the teacher and they worked it out together. He became more responsible, more mature and time managed and more was demanded from him, therefore he performed to the task as expected and no one 'babied' him. He is much more prepared to enter high school now than he was before due to the expectations of him as a student. The parental involvement is pretty good, as well.

Jefferson Jr. High School 5

Posted March 26, 2008
- a student
I actually go to Jeff. Its a good school, just because some students decide to act up doesn't make Jeff a bad school. The teachers really care about the students and what they have to say. They're hard on us because they know someday we're going to be great and change the world. Jeff is amazing and anyone who says it isn't just because of issues with disapline needs to live the day and the life of a student there and you'll see differently.


Jefferson Jr. High School 5

Posted February 02, 2008
- a parent
This is an awesome school! The teachers really respect the students and do everything they can to help their students be successful.

Jefferson Jr. High School 1

Posted October 11, 2007
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Jefferson Jr. High School 2

Posted April 02, 2005
- a former student
This school is a failure. The undue emphasis on standardized testing and the minority gap hinders the ability of gifted and talented students to excel and achieve their potential. Even the so-called honors classes are filled with mediocre and lazy students. As for extracurricular activities, the school places a much higher importance on sports than on intellectual clubs. And, of course, there are serious discipline problems. Most incidents go unreported and unpunished. Profanity is ubiquitous in the hallways. Any parent with a gifted student will not find any support in this school.


Jefferson Jr. High School 3

Posted February 22, 2005
- a parent
I feel that safety and discipline is an issue at this school. There are children who continually get in fights and cause very disruptive behavior that are allowed to return to school time after time. I think that Columbia schools needs to enforce their no tolerance policy more effectively. Also there is drug problem in most of the schools from middle school thru high school. This needs to be looked into more throughly than it has in the past. Suggestion: drug dogs brought into the schools several times throughout the year and search lockers and walk through class rooms. Violators should suffer strict consequences.

Jefferson Jr. High School 3

Posted December 08, 2003
- a parent
I have real concerns regarding the school staff's participation in protecting the kids. I fear that before they take these things seriously, someone will end up with irrepairable harm. I guess schools are no different than any place else. They don't repair things until someone is hurt or sued.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jefferson Jr. High School
713 Rogers, Columbia, MO  65201
(573) 214-3210
Last modified Jefferson Jr. High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jefferson Jr. High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top