Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Robert E. Lee Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 9, 2013

I completely agree with other recent reviews. The school does not put any focus on any other subjects other than the arts. I am a huge proponent of arts programs but as a supplement to a curriculum that teaches kids the necessities. Our daughter began her school career under Kindergarten teacher Mrs. Kephart and we/she had a great experience all the way around. Now in first grade, she doesn't enjoy school, her new 1st year teacher is completely inconsistent with assignments, and when we requested a class change we were told it couldn't happen. She struggles with behavioral and educational issues that were not a problem previously. She always excelled at everything until this year, where it seems she has now stalled completely. We believe that it may be time to start homeschooling in order to get her the education that she needs/deserves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2013

Lee's artistic approach doesn't seem to incorporate any of the other subjects well. We've gone for 3 years and have had troubles keeping up. The only time we've met levels is when supplemented with homeschooling during our own time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

We went to Lee hoping for a solid education that used the arts to explain concepts. Lee supports expressive arts - they just don't seem to tether the arts and teaching together very well. Our child is struggling in math and barely reading, but can sing "the blues". Not what we were after.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2012

Lee is an EXPRESSIVE arts school, where the faculty works together to integrate the arts with the traditional core curricula. (however,do not expect an "arts academy type school) By learning through music, visual art & dance, kids get a broad based education that keeps them engaged and interested. This school is unique in that 50% of the students and families live in the "lee" boundaries, but the other 50% are here by special request. The school's location near the MU campus enhances the diversity of the student population and provides many unique learning opportunities--students regularly engage in "real world" learning activities and frequently take walking field trips. I would say that this school is weak in academic RIGOR,but I have felt that my kids are getting a good educational experience that teaches them to respect others, to appreciate the arts, and to make connections between what they're learning at school & real life. The current PTA is growing and active. Parents & community organizations are very involved at this school and my children enjoy attending here. Behavior issues seem minimal. Some issues with weak new teachers will hopefully be resolved soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

Lee is advertised as the progressive arts school so I transferred my daughter there. VERY disappointed. They didn't teach her to read. She hated doing her homework because she was getting no direction or support. Every issue was essentially a parenting issue, the staff and especially the administration is above review. She actually quit doing art at home which she formerly loved. There has been no program continuity with the new principle. Long story short I transferred her to Russell elementary in our own neighborhood. She went from reading below grade level to above in 3 months,it's easy to get her to do her homework, and all the parenting issues have magically resolved themselves. Do not believe the hype..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2009

Lee was really hyped up and I thought my daughter was going to be attending a really incredible school. We moved from California and she was going to a very cool 'project based learning' school. I don't know if the new principal is the reason or if the curriculum has changed. Since my daughter began Lee she wakes up everyday and cry's and says, 'I hate school' and 'I don't want to go to school'! This is from a child who has always been eager to learn and has been above average as a student. Not every school is right for every child. We are removing her from their program and putting her into a different school. Many parents say they do not care for this principal. I would investigate it thoroughly before selecting this school. If your child is above average and needs a challege, Iook elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2009

I think that the skool is excellent every day my child goes to school she comes home and tell me she learned some thing different but hey eep up yhr good work lee school teachers and staffs and thanks forall the help
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

My family LOVES Lee. The school offers so many opportunities and perspectives--a commitment to the arts, a diverse student population, a wide range of special projects, countless field trip opportunitites. The teachers are dedicated, accessible and tuned in to students' indvidual needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2007

My child has attended Lee School for the past 2 years. The staff is great. They are involved and really care about their students. The school counselor went out of her way when we had a issue at home to help my child. My son has excelled at Lee, learning at his individual ability. His weaknesses found and worked on to improve. His strengths brought forward to aid him in excelling. Music and art were very important for me growing up and I am glad it is a part of his education. I attended one of the Lee get togethers recently and the turn out was amazing. The level of parent involvement is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2007

My daughter began Kindergarten at Lee last fall. We moved out-of-state in February and the hardest part was taking her from her school. Lee has an 'expressive arts' program which integrates the arts into all subjects. This is a phenomenal teaching tool. The art and music teachers are fantastic. The entire administration of the school is top-notch from the principal and secretary to the custodians and lunch helpers. The principal and counselor were out to greet parents and students every morning. And the classroom teachers were very concerned and involved with the kids and their families. It is such a friendly and caring place. The school has children representing a wide diversity of cultures and socio-economic backgrounds -- all respected and taught to work together. It really is a little slice of what the world should be. I am still sad that my daughter isn't there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2005

Two of my children went through Lee, the younger leaving last year. Over the course of the decade we had children there, we saw the commitment to the Expressive Arts program waver and the quality of the school waver as well. We were once happy to be Lee parents; later we couldn't wait for our children to be done. We loved the principal and the upper grade teachers; the primary program leaves a lot to be desired. Lee does have a great mix of students because it gets a lot of students from the international community at the nearby universities. Downtown location was a plus for us, but others find it a negative. The facility needs a lot of work too.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students45%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White57%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students20%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White27%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students50%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students41%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students56%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students56%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students58%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 74%
Black 20% 17%
Two or more races 9% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 2%
Hispanic 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1208 Locust
Columbia, MO 65201
Phone: (573) 214-3530

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Heritage Academy
Columbia, MO




Eugene Field
Columbia, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT