Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


West Jr. High School 2

Posted June 16, 2014
- a community member
As a student of Rock Bridge now, I look back at West and think of how unexceptional it was. Some of the rules were there seemingly to make the school appear structured, when they had no real purpose. For example, the sweeping. If a student wasn't in class by the first bell, even sometimes just outside the door, a good ten to fifteen minutes would be spent in an office filling out paperwork instead of being in the classroom getting an education. I also find it ridiculous the students can't leave the cafeteria during lunch. Off-campus would be a bit much, but the no cell phones during lunch (what's the point of that?) and not being able to switch between cafe areas is ridiculous. The teachers weren't fantastic, but not bad. It was restrictive, but an okay school.

West Jr. High School 5

Posted August 04, 2013
- a community member
West Junior High is an excellent school that has maintained a strong focus on academics throughout the years. The principal has been instrumental in training the faculty and staff and it shows! The faculty fondly call themselves the "West Family". Teachers collaborate and enjoy what they do. They still do not have air conditioning, but that is not any fault of their own. They are just in an old building.


West Jr. High School 1

Posted July 29, 2013
- a community member
I didn't like this school at all when I went there. The kids were immature, the teachers were mean, etc... my 8th and 9th grade years were the worst times of my life all thanks to this school. I would never go there again.

West Jr. High School 1

Posted July 26, 2013
- a community member
What a terrible School. I had a really bad experience there. The only good thing I have to say about the school is, the cookies were delicious. Other than that, I would not step into that school EVER AGAIN.

West Jr. High School 4

Posted December 10, 2011
- a community member
This school is really a very nice learning experiance for the students. They get the right amount of freedom and learn well. The principle is not involved in the school at all, but claims to be. She shows up at the band concerts and gets thanked and credit for what she doesnt do. A tip: put your students in honor classes. They believe that it is less work for regular, but the regular curriculem is very shallow, and very easy. Overall a very great school. I am a former student, and I had a great time at this school. The lunch ladies there are extreamly nice, and the only reason I'm giving it four stars instead of five is because of the principle.


West Jr. High School 5

Posted February 23, 2011
- a teacher
This is one of the best junior high schools in the nation. People from every socio-economic level attend here, teachers provide relevant just-in-time instruction using 21st Century Learning Skills embedded.

West Jr. High School 3

Posted March 18, 2010
- a student
The quality of the teachers at west varies quite a bit depending on the subject being taught. But certain subjects, such as the Music programs, sciences, and history/government have excellent teachers. The number of extracurricular activities is relatively high and there is a good variety of programs and 'clubs' available. The principal does not always do a great job however. W rarely see her walking throughout the school as you would see at other schools, and she has some bias towards certain students. She does not seem very active within the school. Another area that west can lack in is safety. The number of fights, drug arrests, and thefts, has risen quite substaintally between this year and last. I personally do not feel very safe at this school due to the number of very pushy students. Some lunch ladies also seem a bit racist.

West Jr. High School 4

Posted March 13, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


West Jr. High School 5

Posted March 24, 2009
- a student
West is extreamly caring about it's students' learning experience, and it strives for excellency. This is one of the best schools I have attended. Fighting in this school is very rare, in fact, I only know of two so far in the duration of this school year. The adults quickly resolved these conflicts. The teachers are all kind and courteous, and see each student as an individual, not some child in a class. I greatly enjoy my time at West.

West Jr. High School 5

Posted April 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Jr. High School
401 Clinkscales Rd, Columbia, MO  65203
(573) 214-3230
Last modified West Jr. High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Jr. High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top