Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mill Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 844 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2014

My children have been attending this school for three years. Having experience teaching in east coast and west coast schools, I believe Mill Creek ranks among the best. We have been fortunate to have been in average sized classes with outstanding teachers. My children are excelling beyond the curriculum and being challenged with new material. I have nothing but good things to say about Mill Creek. I must admit that I do not expect the teachers to be the only ones teaching my children and realize my responsibility to make the time to expand on what they are already learning at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2014

And I strongly disagree with looking into private schools in town, the only one worth looking into at all is Columbia Independent School. Curriculum at others is pathetic and they only have a good reputations because the students that go there have highly involved parents (which research has proven increases student achievement) and they can cherry pick which students they want in their school. CIS or public school are the ONLY way to go in Columbia!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2014

Columbia is very proud of their school district, but it has serious problems with drugs, a poor graduation rate, and kids with entitlement issues. There have been rumors that new teacher hires are selected from the "middle of the pack," as these teachers are thankful to have jobs and will not "rock the boat." My wife and I have had 5 children attend Fairview, Mill Creek, Paxton Keely, Smithton, Gentry, Jeff Jr., Oakland, West Jr, Rockbridge and Hickman. They all suck. My youngest daughter attended Mill Creek K-2, beginning in 2009. Her kindergarten teacher was nice, but with 25 students, she had little time for anything but herding. By first grade my daughter started falling behind and by 2nd grade was tested at a 68% reading level. Thankfully, we moved to another state and were shocked when her reading score jumped 20 points! She is now an honor student and loves school (whereas she never wanted to go to Mill Creek even though she had many Mill Creek friends from our Thornbrook neighborhood). My advice is to consider the several private schools that have recently opened and stay away from CPS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2013

This school has a lot to offer but there are some things to consider. Parent involvement is high, for a large school they do a great job of building a sense of community, there are a variety of extra activities and events for students and families to enjoy together, there are some wonderfully caring teachers. What you need to know, though, is that classes are large, there are many bright and gifted children in the school but instruction is often below their ability level and the academically advanced students are not challenged, several friends with children there note that there is little science instruction (especially hands on learning). We did have a bad experience with one kindergarten teacher in particular but had a good experience with another. Overall, wishing there were more individualized instruction at the level of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

We moved to Columbia in April 09. My daughter finished K and began 1st grade at Mill Creek. She was very unhappy there. She is academically advanced and well behaved, and in a class of 25 students or more and 1 teacher, she was getting little to no attention. She was not challenged. She multiplies and reads 3 grade levels ahead but was stuck doing simple addition with pictures and reading beginning reader books. She dreaded school each day. She was bored and begged to change to a school 'where they will teach me something I don't know yet.' She is now in a private school and thriving. This is widely believed to be the best elem. school in town, but for us it was simply average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2008

We have two children at Mill Creek and love it. Parents are very active and teachers make learning fun for the students. Administrators are caring. We spent two years looking at all public and private options in Columbia and chose Mill Creek. We don't regret it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2004

since my daughters tranfer to this school she has done outstanding and it is a great district and a great place for my daughters continuing education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2004

Mill Creek Elementary an outstanding school in an outstanding public school district. The combination of a well rounded education and an detailed individual approach is exemplary.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 42% in 2014.

163 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2014.

163 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 46% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 51% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 48% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students60%
Black33%
Asian/Pacific Islander68%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White62%
Free or reduced-price lunch39%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students57%
Black7%
Asian/Pacific Islander89%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White59%
Free or reduced-price lunch23%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students71%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White73%
Free or reduced-price lunch27%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students58%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White59%
Free or reduced-price lunch13%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students75%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White78%
Free or reduced-price lunch30%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students80%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White82%
Free or reduced-price lunch40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students78%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White82%
Free or reduced-price lunch20%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 74%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 2%
Black 8% 17%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Hispanic 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2200 Nifong Blvd
Columbia, MO 65203
Phone: (573) 214-3280

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT