Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bellerive Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 398 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2014

Both my kids attend Bellerive. I volunteer in the library with Ms.Beihl. I've got nothing but great remarks on the teachers and principal. They are awesome. My son attends the gifted program (mosaic) and he is loving it. Great School - Great Teachers/Principal - Great Community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

School is good, I recommend it, I was a past student of the elementary school not long ago. They have good learning materials, a good community, and great teachers (Most of them at least)! Honestly, there isn't too much to talk about this school, except for the fact that I usually enjoy going to school. The only problem is that some teachers aren't as advanced. I'm not going to pick out names, but long story short, some teachers are more better than others. But don't just take my word for it, go check it out yourself!


Posted May 2, 2013

The school is ok, my child had Ms. Dulaney and I didn't like her very much. I don't think she dresses very professionally and she doesn't talk to me with much respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2011

Not sure why the community rating is only three stars; all of the reivews for this school are great! My daughter has just finished her first year at Bellerive and will be starting her second year this fall. We couldn't be happier with this school. I have found the teachers to be extremely approachable; to a person when I have emailed a teacher about a question or concern they have always responded back. I am a big fan of inclusion in the classrooms and I am pleased to say it is practiced here. Bellerive parents are very involved in the school, volunteering in various ways. Fundraising is also very big here; the money raised benefits the school by having additional items added to the classroom. This past year's fundraising efforts were to purchase technology-friendly furniture for the classroom. However parents are not pressured to fundraise or contribute if they are not able to do so; our family has limited means so we apprecited this. I would whole-heartedly recommend this school to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2011

My two children have been here for 2.5 years, now in 2nd grade and 4th grade. I have found the staff caring, and that they go the extra mile with parents in terms of sorting through issues with children. I've had teachers call me at home in the evening on their own time to discuss issues with the children (missing homework, inattentiveness). Another teacher allowed me to volunteer in the classroom despite the fact that they have a policy against that in 4th grade and 5th grade, specifically to address a concern I had about observing my child's interactions with classmates in a school setting. The counselor is wonderful. Only person who has been a bit bossy/intrusive has been the school nurse, who sent my son home for itching his mosquito bites too much in class(!), and then kept calling at work (3 times) to ask as to whether I'd taken him to doctor for treatment for the mosquito bites. Other than that one person, everyone else is really super, the teachers really care, and volunteering with other parents is a joy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

My two kids are going to this school since last year.The principal is very sincere, friendly and caring.I'd never seen any principal come and attend IEP meeting in my previous experience.The teachers are very understanding and helpful.The special education in this school is very good. They encourage the students to participate in all the activities and very understanding.We are happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

My son will be in his 2nd year at Bellerive next year as a first grader. His experience has been wonderful as well as mine. The teachers all seem open and really sincere about the students educational future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2008

I think this school is a very good school because it is big and wide for opportunities
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2006

Although we have been at Bellerive just shy of two years, I couldn't be more pleased with the excellent teachers we have encountered. I know they go 'above and beyond' in their efforts to make my child enthusiastic about his education. I am also happy to see a strong effort to get more parents involved at the school giving the school more of a 'community' feel. I appreciate the creative ways the parents and staff involve the children in a variety of extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 42% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 46% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 51% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 48% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students54%
Black31%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White59%
Free or reduced-price lunch8%
Students with disabilities26%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students48%
Black23%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White45%
Free or reduced-price lunch8%
Students with disabilities26%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students59%
Black42%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White57%
Free or reduced-price lunch31%
Students with disabilities43%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students52%
Black33%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White52%
Free or reduced-price lunch31%
Students with disabilities36%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students69%
Black38%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White78%
Free or reduced-price lunch53%
Students with disabilities59%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students73%
Black25%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White87%
Free or reduced-price lunch53%
Students with disabilities50%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students70%
Black19%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White91%
Free or reduced-price lunch40%
Students with disabilities73%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 74%
Black 19% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 2%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Hispanic 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 4:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Jami Debosch
Fax number
  • (314) 415-6062

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

620 Rue De Fleur Dr
Creve Coeur, MO 63141
Website: Click here
Phone: (314) 415-6050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Andrews Academy
St. Louis, MO


Mason Ridge Elementary School
Town and Country, MO


Kirk Day School
St. Louis, MO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT