Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crocker High School

Public | 7-12 | 234 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 15, 2012

We were excited to move here from a state where my children had 44 kids in their classroom. To come to a school where they aren't always 44 kids in a grade we were hopeful for more one on one interaction with the teachers. Overall, the teachers are good teachers. I'm not confident in stating that I believe many are there for any reason other than to collect a paycheck, but there are those handful that you know truly care. My biggest complaints would be with the lack of a gifted/accelerated learning environment and with bullying issues. Being an "outsider" in most everyone's eyes has not always made it easy for my jr high aged child. Unfortunately have a staff and administration that have not been educated on what to look for, or how to handle issues with bullying has my child no where to turn (other than us of course). I would like to see the school take a more pro active approach at knowing their students and being more engaged with them. This is our second school year here and they didn't know we were a military family until recently.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

Compared to many other schools in Pulaski County and living distance to Ft. Leonard Wood, Crocker Elementary and High schools are leaps and bounds above the rest!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2009

Struggling High school! Very few motivated teachers. Struggling community with very little involvment. Students are not prepared for college at all. New Principal might be able to rescue us. Board needs to open their eyes so the can also help. Pray for the new Princpal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

Crocker R-II School has made many great strides in the past few years... increasing salaries in an effort to keep staff and although they can not compete with Waynesville, they are one of the highest paid in comparison to other surrounding schools of the same size. We have received Destinction in Performance from the state 5 out of the last 6 years and have produced competitive academic teams and several state ranked athletic teams in soccer, basketball, track, golf and Softball. I don't beleive that the school has more problems with drugs and alcohol than any other school district. The administration, faculty, staff and Board of Eduction is currently looking at ways to help detour the use of drugs by our kids. I have sent 4 kids through this school and would recommend it for yours.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

Small community and school, but with that you get the individual attention that most bigger schools can't give. There are some very motivated students and teachers in both the high school and elementary. I believe all schools and communities have issues with alcohol and drugs. If you don't think your school has these problems, you might want to pull your head out of the sand. Crocker has received Distinction in Performance for at least five years. I have had one student graduate from here and one still in school. I would recomend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

I am a former student from Crocker High School and now pursuing higher education. Throughout my college life, I have come across many students who were not fortunate enough to have the individual attention and preparation I received. While my future aspirations may lead me from the area, I will make it a point to come back to the Crocker school district so my children can obtain a first-class education and the opportunity to excell. I recommend this school district to all who are considering moving to the central Missouri region.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2009

This school is a very small school, however, the students, teachers, faculty and administrators all seem to work well together to create o positive learning enviroment. This school seems to be the one where 'everyone knows your name'. I would rather have this type of enviroment rather than my child being just a number. This school is small town at its best!! I would highly recommend this school to other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

very small community and school, can't keep a staff of motivated teachers, not the teachers fault, lots of alcohol, drugs and click parties. preference for the few financially well to do families. Many parents don't care enough to become involved with the education and welfare of children. Would not recommend this school to a friend.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 56% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 51% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
32%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students54%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White51%
Free or reduced-price lunch56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students54%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White51%
Free or reduced-price lunch61%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students58%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White57%
Free or reduced-price lunch48%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students40%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White38%
Free or reduced-price lunch29%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students63%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White62%
Free or reduced-price lunch57%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 55% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
46%
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

74 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 64% in 2014.

31 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
36%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 67% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
47%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
58%
English II

The state average for English II was 75% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
90%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 66% in 2014.

19 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
65%
Government

The state average for Government was 62% in 2014.

15 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
29%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 48% in 2014.

36 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students31%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White31%
Free or reduced-price lunch27%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra II

All Students16%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White16%
Free or reduced-price lunch20%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Biology

All Students72%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White72%
Free or reduced-price lunch61%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Students68%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White70%
Free or reduced-price lunch63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Students66%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White67%
Free or reduced-price lunch52%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Students47%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White47%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Government

All Students67%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White67%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Students39%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White40%
Free or reduced-price lunch40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 74%
Black 2% 17%
Hispanic 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

601 North Commercial
Crocker, MO 65452
Phone: (573) 736-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Maranatha Baptist Academy
Saint Robert, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT