Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Elementary School

Public | PK-3 | 651 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 22, 2014

I was an Eldon school drop out due to the fact the teachers and principals didn't care if others were getting bullied I got teased till I dropped out because I was a teen mother. It shouldnt matter of if your a teen mother or a rich prep you should be able to get an education without the daily stress and depression of being teased. I believe highly in education if I were not in this school district due to a job change for my family I would have graduated because I loved my school in Illinois I was never teased nor was anyone else we all come from a small town we should consider treating everyone like family not trash.....


Posted October 7, 2009

My son entered kindergarten after 2 years of Montessori school. A lot of time and effort has been invested in my son to prepare him for grade school. I feel this school is teaching the students at a very basic level. It's understandable that they must teach at a level that accomodates all of the children, but after seeing my son progress so rapidly for 2 straight years in Montessori school, I'm concerned that he will loose interest in school and become bored. I would like to see a program designed for children that have had a bit of a head start so that they are pushed to their full potential. Although all students are taught at an equal pace and level, I feel that advanced students have special needs just as much as students that have learing difficulties. My expectations of this school aren't being met at this time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

They do such a great job with so many children and so few resources.


Posted March 9, 2005

The adademic quality of this school is VERY low. When my son moved here from another school he was at the top of his class. He is not learning at anywhere near the rate of his other school. His reading level has went down since he started here. There is also a problem with roughness at this school and the teachers just ignore it.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted July 27, 2004

This school is wonderful. I have had 2 of my 3 children go here and my youngest is starting this fall. I have had no problems with teachers or staff,just the oposite I have always had good feedback when there was a problem with my child. Saftey was a big concern of mine when my first child started school but after 10 years of seeing how the school operates I have no wories when my child startes this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2004

Teachers have no sense of accountability, and are not observed closely enough to make sure they are quality teachers. Parental concerns are quickly dismissed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students44%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White46%
Free or reduced-price lunch37%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students43%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White45%
Free or reduced-price lunch31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 75%
Hispanic 2% 5%
Asian 1% 2%
Black 1% 17%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Steven Rhine
Fax number
  • (573) 392-9152

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1210 South Maple St
Eldon, MO 65026
Phone: (573) 392-8030

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT