Advertisement
Advertisement

Sacred Heart Catholic School

Private | 1-8 | 315 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Florissant

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $69,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2013

We seem to have had the opposite problem with this school than the other parents who have posted reviews. Our child has some learning disabilities and our pleas for modification in the classroom fell on deaf ears. Even with a formal diagnosis from special school districts and the recommendations for our child's modifications in classroom seemed to trigger little to no reaction. We were told to medicate our child for ADHD and everything would fall into line academically. Also, class sizes of 25 for a private school?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

My grandchild goes to Sacred Heart Catholic School in Florissant, MO I question the academic standards, the out-dated curriculum, the lack of challenge, learning plans and lack of teacher involvement. My children had a much more well-rounded curriculum 35 yrs ago that stayed up to date with the latest innovative methods with plenty of teacher individualism of what each child's skill levels consisted of. What method does Sacred Heart use in K-3 for reading? Why do numbers stop at 20? Why are written stories not corrected but given a good job done? I wish the child's parents would wake up and take the challenge of finding an up-to-date education instead of the easy street this is where we go to church. Sacred Heart is an old neighborhood icon. But it has not stayed up to date. Ho-hum what does the future of these children hold?


Posted April 21, 2013

The school & church community are wonderful! Academics are lacking. I know for a fact that one child brought home the same book his father had when he was there! (It was a religion book so that does ease some concern). I know several parents are praying for an upgrade in academics and some have even taken to home schooling in an effort to properly educate their children. The school needs a total overhaul if it is going to survive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2013

We enrolled our son in this school due to a recent move. After one year, we removed him due to LOW academic standards. He was not being challenged and often came home to tell me how bored he was as they were teaching him things that he had learned TWO GRADES prior! No one seemed to be concerned with my complaints and nothing ever changed. Now looking back, I wish we had looked into more schools in the area instead of wasting a whole year of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

Very low academic standards at this school. Had to transfer due to concerns about falling behind peers at other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2008

This school has an excellent administrative staff and many wonderful teachers. The parents are very involved and gracious towards teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 77%
Asian 2% N/A
Two or more races 2% N/A
Black 1% 17%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of St. Louis
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

501 Saint Louis St
Florissant, MO 63031
Phone: (314) 831-3372

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Faith Christian School
Florissant, MO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT