Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Florissant, MO
Students enrolled: 1,717

4 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mccluer North High School 2

Posted May 18, 2014
- a parent
I have been very disappointed with McCluer north high school. My daughter and niece both attended North all four years. The staff show a lack of concern for the students that is obvious in all that they do. This was my child's senior year and not once did the school send out notices about when or where graduation was going to be, when the rehearsal was, when deadlines for pictures were, how much the cap and gown would cost or where to order it. They waited until the day before graduation at the rehearsal to tell the students who weren't eligible to walk that they could not participate in the ceremony. They even allowed them to do the senior checkout that Tuesday before without telling them they couldn't attend. I know of one student personally who had been told to take classes online by her advisor and then was told at the rehearsal that she had been taking the wrong classes and that she still needed 2 classes to attend the ceremony. I thought that was crazy, if I had not witnessed this myself I would not have believed it. It's as if the entire school has no guidance. Not to mention how overcrowded it has become. Ferguson Florissant school district is not one I would recommend.

Mccluer North High School 5

Posted March 22, 2013
- a student
Excellent teachers, Strong principal/school leadership, and challenging academic programs are all in effect to provide this wonderful learning environment for children my age.


Mccluer North High School 5

Posted September 18, 2011
- a parent
My son is a senior this year at Mcluer North and is actually graduating a year early. He has had very good teachers for the most part and has especially enjoyed the theatre department and is currently participating in involved video production projects. Also the robotics program of 2 years ago was extremely rewarding but due to a lack of corporate sponsorship, has not been offerd again. I encourage every parent to try to support their schools in order for all to benefit from them.

Mccluer North High School 5

Posted September 01, 2011
- a student
(2011) The honors program at North is the best in north county (a fact that was not only said by students at MN but also transfer private school kids with a supposedly "better" education). Teachers in the honors courses make the classes hard, challenging, and to some almost scary. If there is a student that is willing to work for their grades than they will come out of MN with a better education than they can from any other school in the area. North is the host for the district special olympics every year, in which students and staff can be volunteers. MN sports are also EXTREMELY competitive and rank high every year. The teachers are very good and expect students to act like students- not like children. The fine arts department especially has a good reputation with the orchestra and the choir participating in NATIONAL competitions. North has the highest rate of African American Honors students in Missouri and it also is noticed for it nationally. We've had two students already graduate, one with a full ride to the college of her choice, both with credible and well earned diplomas.

Mccluer North High School 1

Posted February 24, 2011
- a student
This school is extremely lacking in many areas. There is little room to grow and excel due to the unfortunate fact that teachers are stuck holding the hands of sophomores who cant read and freshmen who can't add. The district is prone to passing on poor students and teachers who used to care but just gave up. Test scores are low. Morale is low. Parents aren't involved. Principal leadership is really disappointing. It is sad that a school of this quality is ranked as one of the better in this district. It just goes to show the dismal state of the entire failing district.


Mccluer North High School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
It is an inclusive, caring learning environment.

Mccluer North High School 3

Posted September 30, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Mccluer North High School 2

Posted August 21, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mccluer North High School 5

Posted May 04, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mccluer North High School 1

Posted April 20, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mccluer North High School
705 Waterford Dr, Florissant, MO  63033
(314) 506-9200
Last modified Mccluer North High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mccluer North High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top