Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brown Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 414 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 26, 2014

Brown is a school of Excellence. We focus on Every Student, Every Time. I believe that Brown is a school where students are encouraged to grow, and love learning. I'm very proud of all the wonderful accomplishments Brown has made over the past couple of years. The principal is very passionate about the students and staff in his building. If there is a new program or a new strategy that will benefit the students, then the principal will work to make sure it is being implemented. There is truly a sense of community and family inside of Brown Elementary. I'm proud to call Brown Elementary home!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 5, 2012

I have two kids at Brown, the staff is excellent but the class size has become too much for me. Parent involvment has fallen to an all time low and too much concern is placed on the uniform policy rather than education. The school seems to be a dumping ground for kids with behavior issues and unconcerned parents. Not sure if we'll make it to the end of the school year. Looking into private school at this very moment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

Brown is an excellent school. My child is in the 4th grade and has been there since 1st. I love everything about the school. I was concerned that the new prinicipal (Mr. Phillips) wouldn't be able to live up to the old principal's(Mr. Heckel) standards but he has and he is equally as awesome! All of the staff is loving and caring and very passioniate about the kids and their education. My child started in private school and I was concerned about placing her in a public school but I couldn't have found a better place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2010

I have been w/ Brown for 8 years now and I have to say that it is an exceptional school. Our previous principal was Outstanding and after his retirement, we have an equally qualified and connected principal. All of our teachers are involved and care (not seem to care) about the success of all the students. My children have each had EXCEPTIONAL teaching in their years at Brown.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2010

My son receives special instruction but between his classroom teacher and special instruction teacher, my child has had an outstanding year. The PTA is very active. The school seems to have their things in order. The teachers have been wonderful. Only compaint is the student -teacher ratio, is a bit high. GO BROWN ELEMENTARY!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2009

I think this is a great school. My biggest concern is the number of students in the classroom (its a lot). However, my child did exceptionally well, the teacher was outstanding. I was well informed, the workload was satisfactory. His special instruction teacher was great. I was overall well pleased--considering I was thinking about private school before the school year. I look forward to my son's time at Brown Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

The principal outstanding. He shows great leadership for his staff, students, and parents. He is very involved with the students on a daily basis. He knows them all by name. The teachers are great. The building has been updated to provide the best learning enviroment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2008

brown is a great school. Mr.heckel is a very good principal. He knows what goes on in his school and is very involved with the students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2005

Brown has proven to be one of the best schools in the Hazelwood School Dist. I was considering private school before my son started at Brown. Once there I found the entire staff to be concerned for our children and their education. Mr. Heckel is an excellent principal. Being involved in the PTA was extremely important to me and I am very pleased we have such dedicated group. We are very ivolved in everyday activities. The bottom line is parents must be involved in our children's education to allow our children the full benefits of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2004

I personally had a bad experience with Brown School. My child struggled with reading because she was not taught appropriately. When the situation was address we were told that she was passed along to next grade because they thought that she would grasp hold of the concept. Later she was held back to repeat her current grade. We were told that she had a learning disability. We seeked outside help and had her tested to and found that her phonics skills has not been mastered (no learning disability). My childs self-esteem was really lowered due to this stiuation. Now the school do have a new principal and alot of her past teacher are gone so things are looking a little better now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2004

I love Brown Elementary because they are very personable with the students and parents. The PTA is very strong and financial supports school activities. They really all work together.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 42% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 46% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 51% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 48% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students31%
Black29%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch23%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students56%
Black52%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch52%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students36%
Black29%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White70%
Free or reduced-price lunch32%
Students with disabilities20%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students23%
Black19%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White30%
Free or reduced-price lunch20%
Students with disabilities30%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students56%
Black56%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White64%
Free or reduced-price lunch46%
Students with disabilities20%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students68%
Black64%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White82%
Free or reduced-price lunch51%
Students with disabilities60%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students46%
Black44%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White55%
Free or reduced-price lunch31%
Students with disabilities40%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 78% 17%
White 16% 74%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Hispanic 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Matt Phillips
Fax number
  • (314) 953-4113

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3325 Chicory Creek Ln
Florissant, MO 63031
Phone: (314) 953-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Norbert School
Florissant, MO


St Norbert School
Florissant, MO


Jana Elementary School
Florissant, MO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT