Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
58 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 67 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hazelwood Central High School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted April 27, 2016
- a teacher
Although some of the staff do care about the kids. This year my children have had a lot of trouble with things getting stolen and people bullying. Staff not really a big help. 15 cell phones stolen in one day. My daughter new the person who stole the phone but nothing was done. Both my children are above average students who are who are board in class. This school does not push their students enough. There's no homework and the math teacher does not teach in class. He has the students what he a utub vidio of his lesson. Then has them answer questions the night before. The next day they sit in class.

Hazelwood Central High School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
A wonderful school the teachers really keep you informed. My senior has already been excepted into a college and given a full ride scholarship. that wouldnt have happened if the teachers were that bad as some of the reviews state. I always recieve info on whats going on in school and oppertunities the children have to participate in things.


Hazelwood Central High School 5

Posted August 19, 2013
- a community member
I love this school yeah there are some bad kids but where don't you find bad kids its a great school experience the teachers are cool and find new ways to teach and entertain the students I just love it GO HAWKS!!!!!!!!

Hazelwood Central High School 2

Posted April 28, 2013
- a student
terrible.....teachers don't care, students don't care, admins don't care....There are fights every week, the curriculum is comprehensible for a dog, and the staff worries about everything but the necessities of the school.

Hazelwood Central High School 5

Posted July 31, 2011
- a student
Am currently a Junior in this school and i can say that i love my school,the student and the teachers.GO HAWKS!!!!!!!!


Hazelwood Central High School 4

Posted July 23, 2010
- a student
This school isn't bad at all. Why all the negativity? It's not the teacher's fault that the student is failing. Come on kids, you need to hold up your end of the bargain! Teachers & parents do theirs. Overall, this is a real good school. We are diverse as well. GO HAWKS!!

Hazelwood Central High School 5

Posted May 01, 2010
- a student
Hazelwood Central High School is a very good school the staff and teachers are the best. The problem is the students who are always disrupting class and that dont care about their education. They try to act all tough and start fights, smoke weed in the bathrooms, and skip classes. I moved to this district in the second grade (I am now in the 10th) from private school because of the good education. My parents and I were really satisfied with my learning and still are. Its up to the student to just block all the negative things out and focus on what they came to school for, an education. But I believe if your child is younger and is starting off in elementary school in this district think again. I was comparing what I learned with what my younger brother is learning now and it is completely different. MDS

Hazelwood Central High School 1

Posted March 23, 2010
- a student
This school is terrible, the teachers dont care neither do the students. If your looking for a school to go to THIS is not the one....


Hazelwood Central High School
no rating

Posted March 23, 2010
- a teacher
Hazelhood central is the WORST school in the Country, I cant believe Im stuck working here. The kids here are so disrespectful to their elders and have no respect for authority.

Hazelwood Central High School 5

Posted March 23, 2010
- a parent
I have had a great experience at Hazelwood Central as a parent. The teachers have always been extremely supportive. I could name so many teachers that I have been wonderful. My daugher is able to take Honors classes and AP classes here that are not available at all the other school districts. I am sad to see below that teachers at Hazelwood Central considers this a bad school. I hope they can work with the PTSA to make things better. I know respect starts at home and maybe there are issues at home causing these kids to act up. Please don't give up on the kids. Try working thru the parents to get some support?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hazelwood Central High School
15875 New Halls Ferry Rd, Florissant, MO  63031
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 67 reviews. (314) 953-5400
Last modified Hazelwood Central High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top