Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

2 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mccurdy Elementary School 1

Posted August 03, 2014
- a community member
It's depressing to read most of these comments. I actually went to this school as a child. I always wanted to work for the Hazelwood School District. Good thing I found better opportunities in Georgia and Florida.

Mccurdy Elementary School 1

Posted January 02, 2014
- a parent
The principal is the worst I have ever dealt with. Her people skills with parents and staff are non existent. In 3 1/2 years I don't think I ever saw the principal smile. She drove away the best teachers to other Hazelwood schools. Student discipline is not working. Student behavior is continuing to decline. She tries a command and control approach with everything including the PTA. She has violated PTA by-laws with her actions at PTA meetings. She undermines PTA volunteers. I would never ever recommend somebody send their child to this school.


Mccurdy Elementary School 1

Posted July 17, 2013
- a parent
High teacher turn over, why?? The teachers are leaving to go to another Hazelwood School does not seem right. Is it the Principal? Hmmmmmm it's a shame

Mccurdy Elementary School 2

Posted June 19, 2012
- a parent
In years past, there were a LOT of parents who were very disgusted with the principal of this school. Now there is a new principal who has been there since about 2009. She is very cold, and she's very stand-offish with parents. She speaks in a condescending manner to the majority of the parents. When it comes to the school activities, the principal here is genuinely supportive. However, if there is anything that the parents want that she does not want, she find a way to make sure that it doesn't happen. She will not respond to emails regarding issues with my children. My children tend to do well at the school, however there are always concerns. Good luck, however, trying to get this principal to see your point of view. The programs at McCurdy could be slightly more challenging, however a lot of children seem to be struggling to keep up with the basic curriculum. So I understand why the curriculum is not more challenging. The secretary in the front office is HORRIBLE. She will NEVER assist you with anything that you ask her to. She will always have an excuse as to why she cannot. The instructional specialist here is good. She is intelligent and well informed.

Mccurdy Elementary School 3

Posted February 27, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.


Mccurdy Elementary School 2

Posted August 06, 2008
- a parent
The kids love their teachers and have learned a lot from them. However, a new teacher from last year seemed extremely overwhelmed and without the support from the principle. When we talked to the teacher she would always work with us to make the best year ever. I was chased down by the asst. principle because my son did not flush the toilet.

Mccurdy Elementary School 1

Posted July 28, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mccurdy Elementary School 5

Posted March 30, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mccurdy Elementary School 1

Posted April 24, 2007
- a parent
I am very disappointed in the teachers and the principal of McCurdy School. Teachers seem to only know how to teach one way. I would like to take my child out of this school in the future. Hopefully to a private school.

Mccurdy Elementary School 3

Posted April 16, 2007
- a parent
Ultimately, I feel somewhat disappointed with McCurdy--and the Hazelwood District as a whole. We moved from an area with an excellect school district, and the difference between the social opportunities, the curriculum etc are very drastic. For example, the expectations of the children and what they should learn each year is far less than the aggressive curriculum of other schools. Also, there is a lack of 'community feel' to the school, and generally less apparent interest of parents in working together for the benefit of the children. On a the positive side, the majority of children are of just two major ethnicities, but well-integrated and seem genuinely friendly toward one another. Not all of the teachers are equal either. Some seem fresh and capable. Others seem mean and stagnant,--which includes the teacher aides. Lastly, the office staff is unprofessional and snippy, as if they aren't expected to be respectful toward parents.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mccurdy Elementary School
975 Lindsay Ln, Florissant, MO  63031
(314) 953-4650
Last modified Mccurdy Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mccurdy Elementary School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top