Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wood Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 540 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

I like that the school/teachers keep us updated daily and the teachers there are excellent with my children! My son has behavioral problems and was always in detention in his previous school but since he has been going here we have not had ANY phone calls. Very happy with their patience and the way they work with children.=]
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2013

My daughter went to kindergarten here and we really liked her teacher and she learned so much. There is always something fun going on and a lot of family activities. The principal was very friendly and the office staff knew me by name. There were two things I didn't like however. I did not like the fact that anyone can enter the school. There is no security or office check. I also felt that they watched way too many movies. I am all for a movie day every now and then but they watched movies all the time. Other than that we really liked the school and we will miss it when we PCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

Great school! My 2 boys attended almost 3 yrs & they learned so much because of the teachers great dedication & as well great principle, Dr Campbell is a great leader, always involved with the children's activities & always working on making better changes each year. I never got involved but the PTA as well shows great support always had activities & fund raising going on. Me & my family had to pcs this year & my kids miss FLW because of their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

Great principle & great teachers. I'd recommend this school to any family moving to Fort Leonard Wood. It's been 3 years since my kids have been attending & have never encountered any problems. I have 2 boys & they have improved in every area possible. I'm not only proud of my children but I give the credit to the teachers whom have done a great job with all their students every year! Go Tigers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2011

My children attended Wood Elementary for several years. Despite the never ending changes required of this school and high poverty levels, they have performed well. They have a caring and dedicated staff. You will not find a school with more compassion for students or school spirit. Go Tigers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2011

I found this school to be the worst ever. My children attended there for a year and a half and I was more the teacher then them. There standards are set very low and claim to be above state standard but can't believe that. My children have been passed through the system but can not accomplished their grade level work per the performance books I have purchased. Principal needs to quite concentrating on money and actually get all the non-sense out of the building and get these kids in the classroom learning. Too much play time happens!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

By far the worst school (and district) so far. Barely any communication from teachers and principle and curriculum is horrible. Not to mention my son has missed so many days of school because the teachers and bus drivers seem to think talking is a suspendable behavior. If we are on FLW again nest school year he is either going to be home schooled or i will find a private school. This district has made me sick to my stomach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2010

not only did my daughter go there for kindergarden and 1st grade i substituted there. i would consider this the best school in my work history and inmy childs. Heaven-Leigh was so happy at the school and she learned so much. ms. cambell is a great principle and mrs. scott her kindergarden teacher made her feel completely welcome, safe and smart at this school. definitely 10 out of 10 for me!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

Wood worries too much about kids who talk in the hall and punishing them. Behavior is such a focus that it seems like an alternative school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2009

I find this school just catering to the students who have 'perfect attendance'. Who cares if you make good grades, have good behavior or are a good student. I also agree that the teachers are forced to teach just so the students do well on the MAP test. I urge you to check out the MAP test scores for this school~~horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2008

I agree with your assessment of the LEAP program. Thayer seems to really work to see that their students make the 'grade' (IQ points) with retesting and pushing for the child's needs. Other schools, like Wood, talk big, but don't push to meet the students needs on an individual basis. LEAP could use a facelift.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2008

My child had a good experience at Wood because of the individual care and concern of the teachers we have had. Overall the district itself has an antiquated gifted education program that could use a serious overhaul. While the school was been good for my child, the coveted LEAP program failed to enhance his academic abilities and focused too much on his IQ scores and creative thinking. It really didn't do much to challenge him academically. Since attending a magnet school out of state, I can now reflect and see the needs of Wood and the district. Perhaps it's time to come into the 21st century and realize the needs of children can be met with more modern thinking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2008

Substandard teaching especially in 4th and 5th grade. Check out this school's map scores especially in the above mentioned grades
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2008

Teachers just teach around the Map test. This is the worst school I have seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

Wood Elementary has a great environment for learning. The students are there to learn and it shows. The teachers put the student first.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
25%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
33%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students50%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White51%
Free or reduced-price lunch46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students43%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White43%
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students67%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch61%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students80%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students60%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White71%
Free or reduced-price lunch56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students55%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White71%
Free or reduced-price lunch49%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students45%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White61%
Free or reduced-price lunch40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 74%
Black 20% 17%
Hispanic 12% 5%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Antiqua Hunter
Fax number
  • (573) 329-2827

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7076 Pulaski Ave
Fort Leonard Wood, MO 65473
Phone: (573) 329-2311

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Partridge Elementary School
Fort Leonard Wood, MO


Pick Elementary School
Fort Leonard Wood, MO


Maranatha Baptist Academy
Saint Robert, MO



Thayer Elementary School
Fort Leonard Wood, MO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT