Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wood Elementary School 2

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
I do not care for the office staff. They have a huge issue with pick up and drop off. They have been doing this for years and still cannot figure out how to make it run smoothly. It does not help when they tell kids to walk home who are not supposed to and put kids on a bus when they are a car pick up.

Wood Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
I like that the school/teachers keep us updated daily and the teachers there are excellent with my children! My son has behavioral problems and was always in detention in his previous school but since he has been going here we have not had ANY phone calls. Very happy with their patience and the way they work with children.=]


Wood Elementary School 4

Posted July 08, 2013
- a parent
My daughter went to kindergarten here and we really liked her teacher and she learned so much. There is always something fun going on and a lot of family activities. The principal was very friendly and the office staff knew me by name. There were two things I didn't like however. I did not like the fact that anyone can enter the school. There is no security or office check. I also felt that they watched way too many movies. I am all for a movie day every now and then but they watched movies all the time. Other than that we really liked the school and we will miss it when we PCS.

Wood Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
Great school! My 2 boys attended almost 3 yrs & they learned so much because of the teachers great dedication & as well great principle, Dr Campbell is a great leader, always involved with the children's activities & always working on making better changes each year. I never got involved but the PTA as well shows great support always had activities & fund raising going on. Me & my family had to pcs this year & my kids miss FLW because of their school.

Wood Elementary School 5

Posted June 06, 2012
- a parent
Great principle & great teachers. I'd recommend this school to any family moving to Fort Leonard Wood. It's been 3 years since my kids have been attending & have never encountered any problems. I have 2 boys & they have improved in every area possible. I'm not only proud of my children but I give the credit to the teachers whom have done a great job with all their students every year! Go Tigers!


Wood Elementary School 4

Posted October 29, 2011
- a parent
My children attended Wood Elementary for several years. Despite the never ending changes required of this school and high poverty levels, they have performed well. They have a caring and dedicated staff. You will not find a school with more compassion for students or school spirit. Go Tigers!

Wood Elementary School 1

Posted July 11, 2011
- a parent
I found this school to be the worst ever. My children attended there for a year and a half and I was more the teacher then them. There standards are set very low and claim to be above state standard but can't believe that. My children have been passed through the system but can not accomplished their grade level work per the performance books I have purchased. Principal needs to quite concentrating on money and actually get all the non-sense out of the building and get these kids in the classroom learning. Too much play time happens!

Wood Elementary School 1

Posted April 26, 2011
- a parent
By far the worst school (and district) so far. Barely any communication from teachers and principle and curriculum is horrible. Not to mention my son has missed so many days of school because the teachers and bus drivers seem to think talking is a suspendable behavior. If we are on FLW again nest school year he is either going to be home schooled or i will find a private school. This district has made me sick to my stomach.


Wood Elementary School 5

Posted July 19, 2010
- a parent
not only did my daughter go there for kindergarden and 1st grade i substituted there. i would consider this the best school in my work history and inmy childs. Heaven-Leigh was so happy at the school and she learned so much. ms. cambell is a great principle and mrs. scott her kindergarden teacher made her feel completely welcome, safe and smart at this school. definitely 10 out of 10 for me!

Wood Elementary School 3

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
Wood worries too much about kids who talk in the hall and punishing them. Behavior is such a focus that it seems like an alternative school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wood Elementary School
7076 Pulaski Ave, Fort Leonard Wood, MO  65473
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (573) 329-2311
Last modified Wood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top