Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Galena High School

Public | 7-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 12, 2013

Galena High School is a wonderful school. Teachers are deicated and motivated to help ensure their students are college and career ready. Last year alone, there were over $890,000 scholarships to colleges awarded to graduating seniors! The counselor and teachers were editing all year long trying to make sure students were able to obtain as much help as they could! The PBIS is helpful and adds positivity to the air. They care about our student's safety, making sure the weather is good enough for our children to drive the curvy, hilly, no-side drop off roads!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 21, 2013

This is the worst school ever, the kids are always out of school for no real reason, if it barely snows they send the kids home or they don't have school for several days. I have had the kids home days when its sunny out because of the weather really people you don"t live in Alaska, this school I do not recommend not to anyone. its a school full of excuses. bus the kids somewhere worth while..


Posted November 12, 2011

Galena High School is like any other high school. It's full of ungrateful teenagers who complain about "being stuck there" getting an education. They are lucky to be there, being taught by excellent teachers who care about their futures. If the students would stop goofing off and texting during class and pay attention and do their work, they might actually learn something... Like spelling and grammar, maybe. They blame all of their problems on the principal. I don't care much for her either, but she's only doing her job and they need to show her respect. Respect. That is something teenagers today lack. These problems in schools begin at home. I believe that if you are going to have kids, you need to teach them right from wrong. You need to teach them to respect their elders. The sad thing is, most parents don't care what their children do. The majority of the students, not only in this school, but in schools around the nation, are the most foul-mouthed, overdramatic, selfish, most disrespectful teenagers I've ever seen.


Posted August 15, 2009

Galena is horrible. it feels like a prison now. and alot of the students feel this way, and its because of the new principal. she has no clue what shes doing, and everything is terrible now. they quorintine us in class room, from when we first walk in the door to untill we get on the bus to go home. we never see our friends at all unless were lucky enough to have them in class. every grade pretty much has there own luch hour so u cant talk to ur friends that are older. i am defiatly considering switching schools. i know that there are parents who are going to be speaking to be school board about this. the new principal need to be fired. its really sad when students actually hate going to school just bcuz of the principal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2009

I used to teach in the Galena School Distict. Now I am a parent of a Galena student. Galena School District is in major need of changes in its academic and sports programs. The school district needs better teachers at the high school. Teachers that do not enable the students to be lazy and settle for less than their best. The teachers are too accomodating to the students therefore not preparing them for the real world ahead of them. The teachers do not have control over the students in the classrooms, which makes learning difficult for the students who actually care about school and who are going to college, later. It is also uncomfortable for substitutes and presenters, the students have no respect for adult authority because the staff tolerates unruliness. Our family is seriously considering changing school districts to seek better education and sports programs in the neighboring school districts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2008

I have been going to Galena Scools since kindergarten. I am a junior and plan on going on to college. I would not call Galena an unsatisfactory school, but I would call it a school that is in need of some changes and better funding from the state. It is a small school that does not offer college credits or dual credit classes, but heck it's only high school! It does offer the A+ program. I would know, I'm in it. As for the lack of college classes...... classes are available at the colleges near by in the summer. I think it is rude to say that the school is horrible and that if parents care they wouldn't send thier student here. Because of the size of Galena, they are able to accomidate the students and give them personal attention. Galena may need work, but it is improving well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2008

this school is great ive been here since preschool im almost finished with my time here ive seen a lot of changes but this school has had the same sports for years and manadged to get by just fine the school has a great ag department and many of other of clubs people who think this school is awful is wrong they just need to spend some time here
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2008

This school Offers the A+ program and now has great teachers, and also two great principles. One at the high school and the other at the elementary. This school offers so many sports and other activities that it should be a high ranking school. The only problem that i have is that there are too many parents on the school board and that effects the children of those parents. The Children think that since their parents are on the board that they can do whatever they wanted and they get way with it. Those that don't get away with it is fired by those parents.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2008

this school is awsome! everybody gets along and everybody knows everybody. and they welcome new comers and they are improving things fast!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 25, 2005

This school has very little to offer compared to area schools; this school is deficient in everything from academic offerings to sports and theater. Administrators at this school refused to work with me on the special needs of my child who has been diagnosed with Obsessive Compulsive Disorder. This school not offer the A+ program, nor do they participate in the dual credit program offered by the nearby University. If you love your children and care about their future do not make them go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 55% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 55% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
25%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
36%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students43%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White45%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students43%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White45%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students46%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White44%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students19%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students34%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White34%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
52%
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

44 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 54% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
56%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
44%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
61%
English II

The state average for English II was 69% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
88%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 61% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
46%
Government

The state average for Government was 54% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 47% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students33%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White35%
Free or reduced-price lunch28%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra II

All Students37%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Biology

All Students56%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White59%
Free or reduced-price lunch49%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Students24%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White23%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Students53%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White50%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Students60%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Government

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Students47%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White50%
Free or reduced-price lunch46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 74%
Two or more races 7% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Hispanic 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Black 0% 17%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

30925 State Hwy 413
Galena, MO 65656
Phone: (417) 357-6618

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT