Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Galena High School 5

Posted April 12, 2013
- a teacher
Galena High School is a wonderful school. Teachers are deicated and motivated to help ensure their students are college and career ready. Last year alone, there were over $890,000 scholarships to colleges awarded to graduating seniors! The counselor and teachers were editing all year long trying to make sure students were able to obtain as much help as they could! The PBIS is helpful and adds positivity to the air. They care about our student's safety, making sure the weather is good enough for our children to drive the curvy, hilly, no-side drop off roads!

Galena High School 1

Posted March 21, 2013
- a community member
This is the worst school ever, the kids are always out of school for no real reason, if it barely snows they send the kids home or they don't have school for several days. I have had the kids home days when its sunny out because of the weather really people you don"t live in Alaska, this school I do not recommend not to anyone. its a school full of excuses. bus the kids somewhere worth while..


Galena High School 3

Posted November 12, 2011
- a community member
Galena High School is like any other high school. It's full of ungrateful teenagers who complain about "being stuck there" getting an education. They are lucky to be there, being taught by excellent teachers who care about their futures. If the students would stop goofing off and texting during class and pay attention and do their work, they might actually learn something... Like spelling and grammar, maybe. They blame all of their problems on the principal. I don't care much for her either, but she's only doing her job and they need to show her respect. Respect. That is something teenagers today lack. These problems in schools begin at home. I believe that if you are going to have kids, you need to teach them right from wrong. You need to teach them to respect their elders. The sad thing is, most parents don't care what their children do. The majority of the students, not only in this school, but in schools around the nation, are the most foul-mouthed, overdramatic, selfish, most disrespectful teenagers I've ever seen.

Galena High School 1

Posted August 23, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Galena High School 0
no rating

Posted August 15, 2009
- a student
Galena is horrible. it feels like a prison now. and alot of the students feel this way, and its because of the new principal. she has no clue what shes doing, and everything is terrible now. they quorintine us in class room, from when we first walk in the door to untill we get on the bus to go home. we never see our friends at all unless were lucky enough to have them in class. every grade pretty much has there own luch hour so u cant talk to ur friends that are older. i am defiatly considering switching schools. i know that there are parents who are going to be speaking to be school board about this. the new principal need to be fired. its really sad when students actually hate going to school just bcuz of the principal.


Galena High School 2

Posted June 17, 2009
- a parent
I used to teach in the Galena School Distict. Now I am a parent of a Galena student. Galena School District is in major need of changes in its academic and sports programs. The school district needs better teachers at the high school. Teachers that do not enable the students to be lazy and settle for less than their best. The teachers are too accomodating to the students therefore not preparing them for the real world ahead of them. The teachers do not have control over the students in the classrooms, which makes learning difficult for the students who actually care about school and who are going to college, later. It is also uncomfortable for substitutes and presenters, the students have no respect for adult authority because the staff tolerates unruliness. Our family is seriously considering changing school districts to seek better education and sports programs in the neighboring school districts.

Galena High School 3

Posted December 22, 2008
- a student
I have been going to Galena Scools since kindergarten. I am a junior and plan on going on to college. I would not call Galena an unsatisfactory school, but I would call it a school that is in need of some changes and better funding from the state. It is a small school that does not offer college credits or dual credit classes, but heck it's only high school! It does offer the A+ program. I would know, I'm in it. As for the lack of college classes...... classes are available at the colleges near by in the summer. I think it is rude to say that the school is horrible and that if parents care they wouldn't send thier student here. Because of the size of Galena, they are able to accomidate the students and give them personal attention. Galena may need work, but it is improving well.

Galena High School 5

Posted April 29, 2008
- a student
this school is great ive been here since preschool im almost finished with my time here ive seen a lot of changes but this school has had the same sports for years and manadged to get by just fine the school has a great ag department and many of other of clubs people who think this school is awful is wrong they just need to spend some time here


Galena High School 4

Posted March 28, 2008
- a student
This school Offers the A+ program and now has great teachers, and also two great principles. One at the high school and the other at the elementary. This school offers so many sports and other activities that it should be a high ranking school. The only problem that i have is that there are too many parents on the school board and that effects the children of those parents. The Children think that since their parents are on the board that they can do whatever they wanted and they get way with it. Those that don't get away with it is fired by those parents.

Galena High School 3

Posted February 25, 2008
- a student
this school is awsome! everybody gets along and everybody knows everybody. and they welcome new comers and they are improving things fast!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Galena High School
30925 State Hwy 413, Galena, MO  65656
(417) 357-6618
Last modified Galena High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Galena High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews.